Skip to main content
Menu
المواضيع

تجمّعات سكّانيّة مهدّدة بالتهجير

عشرات التجمّعات السكّانية التي يسكن فيها آلاف الفلسطينيين تنتشر في منطقة تبلغ مساحتها نحو 60% من مساحة الضفة الغربية تلك التي جرى تصنيفها كمناطق C ويعتاش سكّانها على الزراعة ورعي الأغنام. منذ عشرات السنين تطبّق السلطات الإسرائيلية سياسة هدفها تهجير هذه التجمّعات عبْر خلق واقع معيشيّ يصعب تحمّله إلى حدّ اليأس منه، ومن ثمّ الدفع بهؤلاء الفلسطينيين إلى الرحيل عن منازلهم - وكأنّما بمحض إرادتهم.

تشمل هذه السياسة فيما تشمل فرض منع جارف على بناء المباني السكنيّة أو المباني العامّة في هذه التجمّعات ورفض وصلها بالمرافق الأساسية كالكهرباء والماء والامتناع عن شقّ طرق تسهّل الوصول إليها. عندما لا يجد السكّان مفرًّا ويبنون دون ترخيص تُصدر الإدارة المدنيّة أوامر الهدم بحقّ منشآتهم. في بعض الحالات يجري تنفيذ تلك الأوامر ولكن في جميع الأحوال يبقى تهديد الهدم شبحًا يحوم طيلة الوقت فوق رؤوس السكّان. في بعض التجمّعات هناك أسَر هدمت الإدارة المدنيّة منزلها عدّة مرّات. إضافة إلى ذلك فإن الإدارة المدنيّة تهدم جميع المرافق التي يُنشئها السكّان بأنفسهم - كالألواح الشمسيّة التي تزوّدهم بالكهرباء وآبار المياه وطرقًا تمّ شقّها - كما تصادر الصهاريج أو تقصّ الأنابيب التي تمدّ السكّان بالمياه.

صرّحت جهات إسرائيلية على مر السنين أنّها تعتزم ترحيل جزء من سكّان التجمّعات إلى ما تسمّيه "مواقع تثبيت" (مواقع يسكنون فيها بشكل دائم) كأنّما بهدف تحسين مستوى حياتهم. هدف هذه المخطّطات - التي لم تُنشر في شأنها سوى معلومات جزئيّة - تركيز الفلسطينيين في مناطق ضيّقة داخل مواقع سكن مدينيّة وهذه سوف تصعّب عليهم مواصلة كسب رزقهم من الزراعة ورعي الأغنام. هكذا ستحقّق إسرائيل غايتها وتسلب من هؤلاء السكّان مناطق سكناهم لتستخدمها لاحتياجاتها هي. وكما هو الأمر في شأن جميع نواحي الحياة تحت وطأة الاحتلال، وضع هذه المخطّطات إسرائيليّون في تجاهُل تامّ لسكّان التجمّعات الذين لا يملكون أيّة قوّة سياسيّة - أو حتى قوّة تمثيليّة شكليّة - تمكّنهم من التأثير في عمليّات صنع القرار. هذا الواقع يصبح صارخًا على نحوٍ خاصّ في السياق الحاليّ نظرًا إلى أنّ هذه المخطّطات تفرض تغييرات حادّة على نمط حياة السكّان الفلسطينيين وتمسّ مسًّا خطيرًا بفرصهم لكسب الرّزق. لم يجرِ حتّى الآن تنفيذ أيّة خطّة بعد.

تركّز السلطات الإسرائيلية مساعي التهجير في ثلاث مناطق في الضفة الغربية:

  1.     جنوب جبال الخليل: نحو ألف إنسان نصفهم أطفال وفِتيَة يعيشون تحت تهديد التهجير من منازلهم وهدم قراهم. لقد سبق أنْ رحّل الجيش سكّانًا من هذه المنطقة في نهاية عام 1999 بحجّة إعلانها "منطقة إطلاق نار" منذ الثمانينيّات؛ ذلك رغم أنّ إسرائيل - كدولة احتلال - لا يحقّ لها إعلان مناطق كهذه داخل الأرض المحتلّة. في أعقاب التماسات رفعها السكّان إلى محكمة العدل العليا سُمح لهم بالعودة مؤقتًا إلى منازلهم إلى حين البتّ في الالتماسات وإصدار المحكمة قرارها؛ لكنّ شبح الترحيل ما زال باقيًا وما زالت أمام المحكمة التماسات في هذا الشأن لم يصدر الحُكم فيها بعد.
  2. منطقة "معليه أدوميم": في سنوات الثمانين والتسعين رحّلت الإدارة المدنية مئات البدو من عشيرة الجهالين عن مناطق سكناهم ومعيشتهم وذلك بهدف إقامة مستوطنة "معليه أدوميم"، ثمّ بهدف توسيعها. جرى نقل السكّان إلى موقع ثابت أقيم لأجلهم في جوار مزبلة أبو ديس. وحتّى بعد ذلك الترحيل ما زال نحو 3,000 فلسطيني آخرون من سكّان المنطقة مهدّدين بالترحيل. من هؤلاء 1,400 فلسطيني يسكنون في منطقة جرى تعريفها باسم 1E، جعلتها إسرائيل ضمن مسطّح نفوذ مستوطنة معليه أدوميم لتنشئ تواصلاً عمرانيًّا بين المستوطنة ومدينة القدس.
  3. منطقة الأغوار: هنالك ما يقارب 2,700 شخص يسكنون في نحو عشرين تجمّع رعوي في الأغوار، في أراضٍ أو على أطراف أراضٍ أعلنها الجيش مناطقَ إطلاق نار. تسعى الإدارة المدنيّة بوسائل مختلفة إلى منع هؤلاء الفلسطينيين من مواصلة السّكن في المنطقة ومن ضمن تلك الوسائل هدم منازلهم مرارًا وتكرارًا وإخلاؤهم المتكرّر لفترات قصير بحجّة التدريبات العسكريّة ومصادرة الصهاريج التي تزوّدهم بالمياه.

من وراء هذه الممارسات المخالفة للقانون تسعى السلطات الإسرائيلية إلى تحقيق غاية سياسيّة صرّحت بها جهات رسميّة في مناسبات مختلفة وهي استغلال الوقت لفرض وقائع ثابتة على الأرض والسيطرة على تلك المناطق. كلّ هذا بهدف خلق ظروف تسهّل ضمّ هذه الأراضي إلى حدود دولة إسرائيل قانونيًّا في إطار تسوية مستقبلية؛ وحتى ذلك الحين تعمل إسرائيل على ضمّها فعليًّا. في هذه الأثناء وطيلة عشرات السنين حتى الآن تنتهك إسرائيل مرّة تلو المرّة حقوق الإنسان الخاصة بسكّان تلك التجمّعات بشكل منهجيّ وشامل وفظّ.

سياسة إسرائيل هذه تناقض أحكام القانون الإنساني الدولي الذي يحظر النقل القسريّ لسكّان محميّين (إلاّ إذا جرى الأمر لأجل ضمانة سلامتهم أو لأجل أغراض عسكرية ضروريّة - وهذان استثناءان لا راهنيّة لهما في حالة هذه التجمّعات السكّانية). حظر النقل القسريّ يسري ليس فقط على النقل باستخدام القوّة وإنّما أيضًا على حالات يغادر فيها الناس منازلهم دون إرادتهم الحرّة أو نتيجة لضغط تعرّضوا له هم وأسَرهم. من هنا فإنّ الرّحيل عن بلدة في أعقاب ظروف معيشيّة لا تُحتمَل تعمّدت السلطات فرضها - عبر هدم المنازل أو الحرمان من الكهرباء والماء مثلاً - يُعتبَر نقلاً قسريًّا وبالتالي محظورًا، ما يشكّل جريمة حرب على الضالعين في ارتكابها تحمّل المسؤولية عنها شخصيًّا.

Skip to main content
Menu
Topics

Palestinian Communities Facing Expulsion

Scores of farming-shepherding communities, home to thousands of Palestinians, dot the landscape of Area C, which comprises some 60% of the West Bank. For decades, the Israeli authorities have been implementing a policy aimed at driving out some of these communities. They have made living conditions miserable and intolerable in an attempt to get residents to leave, ostensibly of their own volition.

As part of this policy, authorities prohibit any construction of residential or public structures in these communities, refuse to hook them up to the water and power grids, and decline to pave access roads to the communities. When, in the absence of any other alternative, residents build without permits, the Civil Administration (CA) issues orders to demolish the structures. While these orders are not always carried out, the threat of demolition looms constantly over the residents. In some communities, families have had their homes demolished several times. The CA also destroys infrastructure laid or installed by the residents themselves – such as wells, roads and solar panels for generating electricity – and confiscates water tanks or cuts water pipes.

Over the years, Israeli officials have stated their intention of forcing certain communities to relocate to so-called “permanent sites”, with the declared objective of improving their standard of living. In fact, the plans – the full particulars of which have not disclosed – are meant to constrain the Palestinian residents to narrow confines within urban areas, thereby limiting their ability to make a living as shepherds and farmers. This, in turn, will achieve the Israeli objective of dispossessing the residents of their land and using it to benefit Israel. As with most other aspects of life under occupation, plans were drawn up by Israeli authorities without consulting or involving the communities’ residents, who have no political power – or even representation as a mere formality – in the decision-making processes. This conduct is particularly deplorable with regard to these particular plans, as they dictate a radical change in the residents’ lifestyle and their ability to make a living. To date, none of the declared plans have been carried out.

The authorities’ efforts center on three areas in the West Bank:

  • The South Hebron Hills: About a thousand Palestinians, half of whom are children and teenagers, face the threat of expulsion from their homes and the destruction of their villages. The military had expelled residents from this area in late 1999, citing as grounds that the area had been declared a “firing zone” back in the 1980s. Yet Israel, as an occupying power, has no authority to declare firing zones within the occupied territory. Pursuant to petitions by the residents to the High Court of Justice (HCJ), the villagers were allowed to return to their homes pending a ruling. Yet the permission granted was temporary, so the threat of expulsion not lifted. New petitions regarding the expulsion are currently pending before the HCJ.
  • Area of Ma’ale Adumim: In the 1980s and 1990s, for the purpose of establishing and expanding the settlement of Ma’ale Adumim, the CA expelled hundreds of Bedouins of the al-Jahalin tribe from the areas they lived in. They were relocated to a permanent site that had been established for them near the Abu Dis landfill. Even after this expulsion, about 3,000 people in the area still face the threat of expulsion. About 1,400 of the residents facing expulsion live in the area defined as E1, which Israel allocated to the municipal jurisdiction of Ma’ale Adumim in order to create a contiguous urban bloc between Ma’ale Adumim and Jerusalem.
  • The Jordan Valley: Some 2,700 Palestinians live in about twenty shepherding communities in or on the outskirts of areas in the Jordan Valley that the military has declared firing zones. The CA is employing various measures to prevent these communities from remaining in the area, including repeated home demolitions, temporary relocations for the purpose of military training, and confiscation of tankers which supply these communities with water.

The Israeli authorities’ unlawful conduct in this regard is motivated by a political ambition publicly stated by various officials on a number of occasions. They aim to establish facts on the ground and take over these areas so as to establish conditions that would facilitate their actual annexation to Israel as part of a final status arrangement, and until that time, annex them de facto. Meanwhile, for decades, Israel has, been repeatedly, systemically and blatantly violating the human rights of the residents of these communities.

This policy runs counter to the provisions of international humanitarian law, which prohibit the forcible transfer of protected persons (unless carried out for their own protection or for an imperative military need – exceptions that do not apply to these Palestinian communities). The prohibition on forcible transfer is not limited to transfer by physical force, but applies also to instances in which people leave their homes involuntarily or because they or their families were pressured into it. Departure due to impossible living conditions created by the authorities – through, for instance, demolishing homes or disconnecting them from electricity and running water – is considered wrongful forcible transfer. This constitutes a war crime for which all those involved bear personal liability.