Skip to main content
ساتر وضعه الجيش في مدخل بيتا. تصوير: سلمى الدّبعي، بتسيلم، 4.9.2016
Menu
المواضيع

قيود على الحركة والتنقّل

فرض القيود على حركة وتنقّل الفلسطينيين سكّان الأراضي المحتلّة هو أحد الأدوات المركزية التي تستخدمها إسرائيل لغرض تطبيق نظام الاحتلال والسيطرة على السكّان الفلسطينيين. تُفرض هذه القيود على حركتهم داخل الأراضي المحتلّة نفسها وعلى تنقّلهم بين قطاع غزة والضفة الغربية وعلى دخولهم لإسرائيل وعلى سفرهم إلى خارج البلاد. بهذه الطريقة تقيّد إسرائيل حركة الفلسطينيين فقط فيما المستوطنون ومواطنون آخرون - إسرائيليّون وأجانب - يتنقّلون بحرّية.

تنقّل الفلسطينيين في الأراضي المحتلة يخضع تمامًا لإرادة إسرائيل - التي تمليها تعسّفيًّا وللتعليمات التي يتلقّاها الجنود الذين يخدمون في مديريّة التنسيق والارتباط وفي الميدان ولطرق تطبيقهم لها. هذا الواقع يفرض على الفلسطينيين العيش في انعدام يقين مستمر يصعّب عليهم تنفيذ أبسط المهام وتخطيط حياتهم: الفلسطيني الذي يخرج من بيته لا يعلم أبدًا هل سوف يصل إلى مكان عمله - وإن علم فهو لا يعرف هل سيصل في الميعاد؛ وإذا حدّد موعدًا لفحص طبّي لا يعلم هل سينجح في الوصول لإجراء الفحص وهو لا يعلم هل سيتمكّن من الوصول لزيارة أقاربه أو الخروج لمشاهدة فيلم. قد يصل وقد يقف ساعات في حاجز حيث تجري إعاقته وإهانته على يد الجنود وقد يضطرّ للعودة من حيث أتى وقد يُعتقَل.

القيود على التنقّل وانعدام اليقين الناجم عنها آثار أيضًا على الوضع الاقتصادي في الأراضي المحتلّة وعلى فرص التنمية والتطوير. في عدد من التقارير التي عُنيت بالموضوع، أكّد البنك الدولي أنّ هذه القيود هي أحد العوامل الأساسية التي تمنع الاستقرار الاقتصاديّ والتنمية الجدّية في الأراضي المحتلّة. من بين مسبّبات ذلك إعاقة وصول البضائع وعدم وصول المواد الخام والفصم الحاصل بين الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة وغياب القدرة على وضع جداول زمنيّة يمكن الالتزام بها.

واقع الحال اليوم

تدير إسرائيل الأراضي المحتلّة كثلاث مناطق منفصلة ومنعزلة وتمنع سكّانها الفلسطينيين من التنقّل بينها سوى بتصاريح تصدرها "بالقطّارة": 1. قطاع غزة - وضعتها إسرائيل تحت الحصار. 2. الضفة الغربية - تخضعها إسرائيل لحكم عسكريّ مطلق. 3. القدس الشرقية - ضمّتها إسرائيل إلى حدودها.

في إطار سياسة الحصار التي فرضتها على قطاع غزّة تمنع إسرائيل خروج الفلسطينيين منها ودخولهم إليها سوى في حالات استثنائية جدًّا تشمل حالات طبّية طارئة وخطرة وقائمة تشمل عددًا قليلاً من التجّار. إضافة إلى ذلك تقيّد إسرائيل دخول البضائع وتمنع التصدير من القطاع منعًا شبه تامّ. جلبت هذه السياسة انهيارًا اقتصاديًّا في القطاع ونسب بطالة تتجاوز 40%.

في الضفة الغربية تسيطر إسرائيل على جميع المعابر - دخولاً وخروجًا بما في ذلك تلك المؤدّية إلى القدس الشرقية التي ضمّتها لحدودها. تستغلّ إسرائيل سيطرتها هذه ليس فقط لمنع دخول الفلسطينيين إلى المناطق الواقعة تحت سيادتها - حتى إذا أرادوا ذلك لغرض الوصول إلى قطاع غزة، وإنّما أيضًا لمراقبة أيّ خروج لهم من الضفة الغربية إلى خارج البلاد وهو ما تمنعه عنهم في أحيان كثيرة وفقًا لاعتبارات القطعية وحدها.

في داخل القدس أقامت إسرائيل حواجز تفصل الأحياء الفلسطينية الواقعة وراء الجدار عن بقيّة أجزاء المدينة. لقد فعلت ذلك بطريقة تُجبر 140,000 فلسطيني سكّان المدينة على عبور حواجز مكتظّة لأجل الدخول إلى مدينة هم سكّانها.

تراقب إسرائيل تحرّكات الفلسطينيين داخل الضفة الغربية. هنالك حاجزان أساسيّان يقسمان الضفة الغربية إلى ثلاثة أجزاء: حاجز زعترة - المنصوب بين نابلس ورام الله وتشغله أحيانًا عناصر قوّات الأمن؛ وحاجز الكونتينر - إلى الشرق من أبو ديس وتشغله عناصر قوّات الأمن بشكل دائم. منظومة الشوارع في الضفة مضافًا إليها حواجز أخرى وإغلاقات فيزيائية توجّه مسارات التحرّك من شمال الضفة إلى جنوبها وبالعكس إلى شوارع محكومة لهذين الحاجزين. فوق ذلك نصب الجيش بوّابات حديديّة عند مداخل معظم قرى الضفة قادرة على عزل أيّة قرية خلال دقائق معدودة دون حاجة سوى إلى حدّ أدنى من القوى البشرية.

وفق معطيات كانون الثاني 2017 ينتشر في أنحاء الضفة 98 حاجزًا:

  • 59 حاجزًا دائمًا في قلب الضفة، 18 منها منصوبة في الخليل - في منطقة H2 حيث أقيمت نقاط استيطانيّة إسرائيلية. بعض هذه الحواجز يشغله عناصر قوّات الأمن بشكل دائم وبعضها الآخر يشغلونه في النهار أو لساعات محدّدة خلال النهار وبعضها يكاد لا يكون فيه حضور لقوّات الأمن. التفتيش يختلف من حاجز لآخر لكن في معظم الحالات يُجرى تفتيش عشوائيّ.39 من الحواجز التي يشغلها عناصر قوّات الأمن تعدّ حواجز دخول إلى إسرائيل. معظمها منصوب في عُمق بضعة كيلومترات داخل منطقة الضفة الغربية. هذه الحواجز دائمة ويُجرى فيها تفتيش دقيق.
  • وفقًا لمعطيات OCHA المحدّثة حتى حتى نهاية أيلول 2017 بلغ عدد الحواجز الطيارة على امتداد شوارع الضفة 2,941 (ما معدله 327 حاجزًا شهريًا). في العام 2016 بأكمله بلغ عددها 5,587 حاجزًا طيارًا.
  • وفقًا لمعطيات OCHA المحدّثة حتى كانون الثاني 2017 بلغ عدد العوائق المنصوبة على الطرق (بما فيها أكوام التراب وتسييج الشوارع ومكعّبات الباطون وإلخ) 476 عائقًا - لا يشغلها عناصر قوّات الأمن. من ضمنها 124 بوابة منصوبة في مداخل القرى – 59 منها مغلقة و65 منها مفتوحة معظم الوقت باستثناء الأوقات التي يقرر فيها الجيش إغلاقها.

قائمة الحواجز

عبر القيود المفروضة على الحركة داخل الضفة جرت مأسسة الفصل بين المستوطنين والفلسطينيين. منظومة الشوارع الرئيسية في الضفة الغربية شُقّت لخدمة المستوطنين على أراضٍ صودرت من الفلسطينيين. بعض هذه الشوارع (شارع 443 على سبيل المثال) يكاد يُمنع الفلسطينيون من استخدامه منعًا تامًّا. إضافة إلى ذلك أنشأت إسرائيل منظومة شوارع بديلة مخصّصة للفلسطينيين فقط وتسمّى "شوارع نسيج حياة" شُقّت هي أيضًا في أراضً صودرت من الفلسطينيين. تشمل هذه المنظومة أنفاقًا وشوارع التفافية. وفقًا لمعطيات OCHA، شقّت إسرائيل شوارع يبلغ طولها 49 كم تشمل 43 نفقًا وممرًّا تحت أرضيّ. صحيح أنّ إسرائيل تتيح بهذه الطريقة المواصلات بين "الجزر" الفلسطينية التي أنشأتها ولكنّها تمنع التواصل الجغرافي بين البلدات ممّا يمكّنها من قطع المواصلات بسهولة بين المناطق المختلفة داخل أراضي الضفة الغربية.

إضافة إلى هذا تقيّد إسرائيل حركة الفلسطينيين في بعض الشوارع إذ تخصّصها للمستوطنين حصريًّا. مجمل طول الشوارع التي تمنع إسرائيل الفلسطينيين منعًا تامًّا من استخدامها يصل إلى 40 كم تقريبًا منها 7 كم داخل مدينة الخليل في جوار المستوطنات التي أقامتها إسرائيل. إضافة إلى ذلك هناك 20 كم تُفرض فيها قيود جزئيّة على عبور الفلسطينيين.

نظام التصاريح

لأجل تطبيق القيود على الحركة والتنقّل أنشأت إسرائيل نظام تصاريح يُمنع بموجبه الفلسطينيون سكّان الأراضي المحتلة من دخول إسرائيل - بما في ذلك القدس - إلاّ بتصريح أيًّا كان الغرض من الدخول - للعمل أو العلاج الطبي أو لزيارة الأقارب أو غير ذلك. إضافة إلى ذلك على الفلسطينيين إبراز تصريح لكي يمرّوا من حدود دولة إسرائيل للوصول من الضفة الغربية إلى قطاع غزة وبالعكس. في إطار سياسة الحصار ترفض إسرائيل إصدار تصاريح كهذه لسكّان قطاع غزة سوى في حالات استثنائية جدًّا.

تقدّم الفلسطيني بطلب للحصول على تصريح ينطوي على مجابهة نظام بيروقراطي تعسّفي ويفتقر إلى الشفافية. مقدّمو الطلبات لا يمكنهم معرفة احتمالات قبول أو رفض طلبهم ولا متى سيتلقّون ردًّا كهذا أو ذاك. كثير من الطلبات تُرفض دون أيّ توضيح ودون توفّر إمكانيّة حقيقية للاعتراض على الرفض. كما يمكن لإسرائيل بعد أن وافقت ومنحت تصريحًا أن تسحبه بسهولة وهذا أيضًا تفعله دون أيّ توضيح.

منذ تشرين الأوّل 2003 تطبّق إسرائيل نظام التصاريح أيضًا فيما تسمّيه "منطقة التماسّ" - وهي مساحات تقع ضمن الأراضي المحتلة لكنّ إسرائيل فصلتها عنها بواسطة جدار الفصل ومنعت أصحابها من دخولها. في إطار هذا النظام يُضطر المزارعون الفلسطينيون إلى التوجّه إلى الإدارة المدنيّة للتقدّم بطلب تصريح دخول إلى أراضيهم؛ وهذا يسري مفعوله لمدّة محدّدة فيضطرّون إلى تجديد التصريح مرّة تلو المرّة. إلى ذلك تفرض الإدارة المدنيّة قيودًا على دخول غير أصحاب الأرض وإدخال المعدّات الزراعية.

خلفيّة

في السنوات التي تلت الاحتلال كان الفلسطينيون يتنقّلون بين الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزّة دون قيود تقريبًا. كان عشرات الآلاف يعملون داخل إسرائيل؛ العلاقات الأسَريّة ظلّت جارية بين الفلسطينيين سكّان الضفة الغربية والقطاع وسكّان وإسرائيل؛ كان طلّاب من القطاع يدرسون في جامعات الضفّة؛ والتبادل التجاري في مختلف الفروع كان جاريًا بين الفلسطينيين بغضّ النظر عن مكان سكناهم.  

في العام 1991 خلال حرب الخليج غيّرت إسرائيل سياستها وقرّرت أنّه على كلّ فلسطيني يرغب في الدخول إلى إسرائيل أو القدس الشرقية - بما في ذلك لغرض المرور بين الضفة وغزة - أن يتقدّم إليها بطلب تصريح شخصيّ. هذه السياسة قسمت الأراضي المحتلة إلى ثلاث مناطق منفصلة - الضفة الغربية والقدس الشرقية  وقطاع غزة وأصبح العبور من وإلى هذه المناطق رهنًا بإرادة إسرائيل.

آثار هذا التغيير لم تظهر فورًا. في الأشهر الأولى أصدرت إسرائيل تصاريح دخول كثيرة وفعلت ذلك طيلة فترة طويلة نسبيًّا. وبالمجمل استطاع معظم الفلسطينيين بشكل روتينيّ مواصلة الدخول إلى إسرائيل أو العبور منها إلى الضفة وإلى قطاع غزة. ولكنّ إسرائيل أخذت تقلّل تدريجيًّا عدد التصاريح وأصبح الحصول عليها أصعب وأصعب إلى أن فرضت إغلاقًا تامًّا على الأراضي المحتلة "إلى أجل غير مسمّى" وذلك في أعقاب مقتل تسعة مواطنين إسرائيليين وستّة من عناصر قوّات الأمن بأيدي فلسطينيين من سكّان الأراضي المحتلّة.

لأجل تطبيق الإغلاق نصبت إسرائيل حواجز على امتداد "الخطّ الأخضر" بين الضفة الغربية والقدس الشرقية وعلى امتداد الحدود مع قطاع غزّة وأجبرت كلّ فلسطيني على التقدّم بطلب تصريح إذا أراد العبور بين هذه المناطق. هذه التصاريح يجري إلغاؤها كلّما فرض الجيش "الإغلاق التامّ" على الأراضي المحتلة - كما في الأعياد اليهودية على سبيل المثال. وكثيرًا ما يلغي الجيش تصاريح الدخول إلى إسرائيل في أعقاب تنفيذ عمليّات ضدّ أهداف إسرائيلية - أحيانًا لكلّ سكّان الضفة الغربية وأحيانًا لسكّان البلدة التي خرج منها منفّذ العملية وأحيانًا أخرى يلغي فقط تصاريح أفراد أسرته.

أثناء الانتفاضة الثانية فرضت إسرائيل قيودًا مشدّدة وصارمة على حركة الفلسطينيين أيضًا داخل الأراضي المحتلة نفسها: نصبت في أنحاء الضفة الغربية عشرات الحواجز ومئات العوائق الفيزيائية - أكوام التراب ومكعّبات الباطون والقنوات - وبدأت في إقامة جدار الفصل. كانت هذه من القيود الأكثر شموليّة واستدامة وقد عرقلت مجرى حياة جميع سكّان الأراضي المحتلة. يُذكر أنّ بعض هذه العوائق قد أزيل وبعضها تحوّل إلى حواجز دائمة.

أيضًا داخل قطاع غزة نصبت إسرائيل الحواجز مقسّمة بذلك قطاع غزة إلى ثلاثة مناطق منفصلة. في 2005 طبّقت إسرائيل خطة الانفصال عن قطاع غزة وسحبت قوّات جيشها من هناك. نتيجة لذلك أصبحت التنقّل داخل قطاع غزّة متاحًا بحرّية. في حزيران 2007 في أعقاب سيطرة حماس على السلطة فرضت إسرائيل الحصار على قطاع غزة - وهو مستمرّ إلى اليوم. وفيما عدا حالات استثنائية منعت إسرائيل الدخول إلى قطاع غزة والخروج منه.

Skip to main content
Roadblock placed by the military at the entrance to Beita. Photo: Salma a-Deb’i, B'Tselem, 4 September 2016
Menu
Topics

Restrictions on Movement

Restricting movement is one of the main tools that Israel employs to enforce its regime of occupation over the Palestinian population in the Occupied Territories. Israel restricts the movement of Palestinians within the Occupied Territories, between the West Bank and the Gaza Strip, into Israel, and abroad. Only Palestinians are restricted in this manner, while settlers and other civilians – Israeli and foreign – are free to travel.

Palestinians’ freedom of movement in the Occupied Territories lies completely at the mercy of the state’s whims, the instructions given to soldiers at the local (DCO), and the way in which they implement them. This state of affairs forces Palestinians to live in constant uncertainty, making it difficult to perform simple tasks and make plans. A Palestinian leaving home in the morning cannot know whether he or she is going to make it work – on time or at all – or to keep a medical appointment, visit family or catch a movie. She might make it, or she might be delayed at a checkpoint for hours, detained and humiliated by soldiers. She may have to turn around and go back the way she came. She may get arrested.

The restrictions on movement and the uncertainty they generate also bear implications for the Palestinian economy and its development potential. In several reports on the issue, the World Bank found that these restrictions are a major factor impeding economic stability and growth in the Occupied Territories. Reasons include delays in the arrival of goods, non-arrival of raw materials, the separation between the West Bank and the Gaza Strip, and the inability to set schedules and meet them.

The present situation

Israel manages the Occupied Territories as three separate, unrelated areas: the Gaza Strip, which it has held under blockade for more than a decade; the West Bank, where it exercises full military control; and East Jerusalem, which it has annexed to its sovereign territory. Israel allows Palestinians to travel between these areas only if they obtain a special permit, which it rarely issues.

As part of the blockade on the Gaza Strip, Israel prohibits Palestinians from entering and leaving the area except in extremely rare cases, which include urgent, life-threatening medical conditions and a very short list of merchants. Israel limits import into Gaza and almost completely prohibits exports out of it. This policy has driven the Gazan economy to collapse, pushing unemployment there over the 40% mark.

In the West Bank, Israel controls all entry and exit points – including those leading to East Jerusalem, which it has annexed. Israel uses this control not only to block Palestinians from entering sovereign Israeli territory – even if only in transit to and from the Gaza Strip – but also to monitor all travel abroad from the West Bank, often denying this right based on its .

Inside Jerusalem, Israel has installed checkpoints that cut the Palestinian neighborhoods on the other side of the Separation Barrier off from the rest of the city. This forces 140,000 Palestinian Jerusalemites to cross busy, crowded checkpoints in order to enter their own city.

Israel also controls Palestinian travel inside the West Bank. Two major checkpoints split the West Bank in three: The Za’atara checkpoint between Nablus and Ramallah, which is staffed some of the time, and the Container checkpoint east of Abu Dis, which is always staffed. The traffic arteries, together with other checkpoints and roadblocks, direct all Palestinian traffic moving between the north and south of the West Bank into the roads that are controlled by these two checkpoints. The military has also installed iron gates at the entrances to the vast majority of West Bank villages, allowing it to isolate them within minutes and with minimal personnel.

As of January 2017, there are 98 checkpoints in the West Bank:

  • 59 permanent checkpoints located deep within the West Bank, 18 of them in Area H2 in the city of Hebron, where Israeli settlement enclaves have been established. Some of these checkpoints are constantly staffed, some only at daytime or for part of the day, and some are hardly ever staffed. Inspections at the checkpoints vary, but are often random.
  • 39 staffed checkpoints, which are considered points of entry into Israel although most are located several kilometers into the West Bank. These checkpoints are always staffed, and inspections are rigorous.
  • According to 2017 figures provided by the UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA), 2,941 flying checkpoints were counted along West Bank roads (an average of 327 a month) until the end of September. A total of 5,587 flying checkpoints were counted in 2016.  According to OCHA, as of January 2017, there were 476 unstaffed physical obstacles along West Bank roads – including dirt mounds, concrete blocks, and fenced-off segments. Of these, 124 were gates installed at the entrances to villages – 59 of them closed and 65 open most of the time, except when the military decides to close them

To View list of checkpoints click here.  

The restrictions on movement within the West Bank have institutionalized the separation between Israeli settlers and Palestinians. The main network of roads was built to serve settlers, on land expropriated from Palestinians. Israel completely prohibits Palestinians from using about 40 kilometers of these roads – including almost eight kilometers of Route 443 and almost seven kilometers within the city of Hebron, near the settlements established there. Another 20 kilometers of these roads are partially off limits to Palestinians.

In addition, Israel has created an alternate network of roads intended for Palestinians only. Referred to as “fabric-of-life roads”, they were also paved on land expropriated from Palestinians and include tunnels and bypass roads. According to OCHA, Israel has paved 49 kilometers of such roads, including 43 tunnels and underpasses. While this network does allow for vehicular travel between the Palestinian “islands” that Israel has created throughout the West Bank, Israel still prevents territorial contiguity between these communities. This road network also allows Israel to easily cut off traffic between different parts of the West Bank.

The permit system

To enforce the movement restrictions, Israel instituted a permit system that requires all Palestinian residents of the Occupied Territories to obtain a permit in order to enter Israel, East Jerusalem included, for any purpose whatsoever – including work, medical care and family visits. Palestinians must obtain a permit in order to transit through Israel for travel between the West Bank and Gaza Strip. As part of its blockade policy, Israel refuses to issue such permits to residents of Gaza, with rare exceptions.

In attempting to obtain these permits, Palestinians face an arbitrary, entirely non-transparent bureaucratic system. Applicants have no way of assessing the chances that their applications will be approved or how soon. Many applications are denied without explanation, with no real avenue for appeal. In addition, permits already granted are easily revoked, also without explanation.

Since October 2003, Israel has also been enforced a permit system in the “seam zone” – areas severed from the West Bank by the Separation Barrier, often separating landowners from their land. Under this system, Palestinian farmers must apply for permits to access their own land and renew them repeatedly. Restrictions are imposed on anyone who is not a landowner, and on bringing in farming equipment.

Background

Initially, after the occupation began, Palestinians from the West Bank and the Gaza Strip could travel almost entirely freely. Tens of thousands worked in Israel. Palestinians from the West Bank, Gaza and Israel maintained family ties; students from Gaza studied in West Bank universities; and extensive trade took place among Palestinians, no matter where they lived.

In January 1991, during the Gulf War, Israel changed its policy, introducing a demand that any Palestinian wishing to enter Israel or East Jerusalem, including for the purpose of travel between the West Bank and Gaza, must obtain a personal permit from Israel. This policy split the Occupied Territories into three separate areas – the West Bank, East Jerusalem and Gaza – leaving travel between them entirely dependent on Israel’s approval.

The impact of this policy change was not immediately apparent. In the first few months, a great many permits were issued and for relatively long durations. As a rule, most Palestinians were still able to routinely enter Israel or travel between the West Bank and the Gaza Strip. However, Israel gradually reduced the number of permits issued and they became harder and harder to obtain, until, in March 1993, after Palestinians from the Occupied Territories killed nine Israeli civilians and six members of the Israeli security forces, Israel imposed full closure “until further notice”.

To enforce the closure, Israel installed checkpoints along the Green Line (the boundary between the Israel’s sovereign territory and the West Bank), between East Jerusalem and the rest of the West Bank, and on the Gaza border, and required Palestinians wishing to cross them to obtain a permit. These permits are canceled every time the military imposes a “complete closure” on the Occupied Territories, such as on Jewish holidays. The military often revokes Israeli entry permits after attacks, too – sometimes for all Palestinians in the West Bank, sometimes for residents of the attacker’s community, and sometimes, only for his or her family members.

Over the course of the second intifada, Israel imposed severe restrictions on Palestinian movement even inside the Occupied Territories. In the West Bank, it installed dozens of checkpoints and hundreds of physical obstacles – such as dirt mounds, concrete blocks and ditches – and also began building the Separation Barrier. Some of these obstacles have been removed and others have become permanent checkpoints, but altogether they formed the most extensive, longest-lasting restrictions on Palestinian movement since the beginning of the occupation, disrupting the daily lives of all residents.

Israel put up checkpoints inside the Gaza Strip as well, dividing it into three separate areas. In 2005, it implemented the Disengagement Plan, withdrawing its permanent military presence from Gaza, which made travel there free again. In June 2007, after Hamas took power, Israel imposed a blockade on the Gaza Strip – a policy still in effect today – prohibiting, with rare exceptions, entry and exit.