Skip to main content
فتيات فلسطينيّات أثناء عبورهنّ في محيط "قبر يوسف" (القبّة البيضاء) في مخيّم بلاطة. 1.11.2017
Menu
المواضيع

روتين الاحتلال في مخيّم بلاطة للّاجئين، قرب نابلس: يرافق الجيش كلّ زيارات المصلّين اليهود إلى "قبر يوسف" يفرض قيودًا مشدّدة على السكّان الفلسطينيين ويذيقهم الأمرّين

تقع منطقة "قبر يوسف" عند الأطراف الشرقيّة لمدينة نابلس محاذية مخيّم بلاطة للّاجئين. تقرّر في اتّفاقيّات المرحلة الانتقالية (اتفاقيّة أوسلو) اسثناء محيط قبر يوسف لتشكّل جَيبًا إسرائيليًّا داخل المنطقة A. مرّة كلّ أسبوعين وفي الأعياد مرّتين أسبوعيًّا يرافق الجيش جولات ليليّة يشارك فيها مئات المصلّين اليهود المتوجّهين إلى محيط قبر يوسف. أثناء الجولات يفرض الجيش قيودًا شاملة على حركة السكّان الفلسطينيين في المنطقة جاعلاً منهم أسرى داخل بيوتهم؛ وفيما يرشق شبّان من مخيّم بلاطة للّاجئين الحجارة نحو المصلّين وقوّات الأمن يردّ الجنود بإطلاق قنابل الغاز المسيل للدموع الذي ينتشر بين البيوت ويتسرّب إلى داخلها بل وأحيانًا يطلق الجنود الرصاص تجاههم. في بعض الحالات أصيب شبّان خلال المواجهات.

هذه الجولات تجعل حياة السكّان جحيمًا لا يطاق: واقع أنّ الجولات تنظّم في ساعات الليل تحديدًا يقضّ مضاجع السكّان نظرًا إلى الضجيج الذي يسبّبه المصلّون وجلَبَة المواجهات. كلّ دخول للمستوطنين يلازمه قلق السكّان ومخاوفهم - عائلات بمن فيها من أطفال وعجائز ومرضى يضطرّون إلى حبس أنفسهم داخل بيوتهم.
 

Thumbnail
فتيات فلسطينيات يمشون بجانب "قبر يوسف" (القبة البيضاء) في مخيم بلاطة 1.11.17

في الأشهر ما بين آب وتشرين الأوّل 2017 وثّقت بتسليم عددًا من زيارات المستوطنين إلى محيط قبر يوسف شارك في كلّ منها مئات المصلّين. عشرات الجنود الذين رافقوا المصلّين أغلقوا مداخل المنطقة وقيّدوا حركة السكّان داخل مخيّم اللّاجئين. سلمى الدبعي الباحثة الميدانية لبتسيلم سجّلت إفادات عدد من سكّان المنطقة سنفصّلها هنا لاحقًا.

طيلة السنين تفضّل إسرائيل مصلحة المصلّين الإسرائيليين على حقوق السكّان الفلسطينيين وبضمنها حقّهم في العيش الآمن وسلامة أجسادهم وإدارة حياتهم المعتادة. ترتيب الأفضليّات على هذا النحو لا يقتصر على ما يجري في محيط قبر يوسف: منذ خمسين سنة تدير إسرائيل في الأراضي المحتلّة روتين عُنف يوميّ. في إطار ذلك تعمل جميع السلطات الإسرائيلية متجاهلة الفلسطينيين - الذين يجري إقصاؤهم عن عمليّات صُنع القرار، رغم أنّها تمسّ حياتهم. 

حين يجتمع معًا غياب التمثيل السياسيّ للفلسطينيّين ونجاعة جهاز تطبيق القانون الإسرائيلي الدائمة في منع اتّخاذ إجراءات بحقّ المعتدين عليهم فلا حدود للعُنف (الفيزيائيّ والإداريّ) المستخدَم ضدّهم والضرر الذي يطال كلّ جوانب حياتهم - بلا سبب أحيانًا وبذرائع أمنيّة واهية أحيانًا أخرى؛ ولكن في كلّ الأحيان أساس العنف والضرر الناجم عنه هو الأفضليّة العلنيّة لتلبية احتياجات إسرائيل وخدمة مصالحها. هكذا هو الحال في جميع أنحاء الأراضي المحتلّة وهكذا في الحالة التي أمامنا، حيث يُفرض أمرٌ واقع على سكّان مخيّم بلاطة للّاجئين. وكما يظهر بوضوح في إفادات الشهود يتميّز هذا الواقع بانعدام يقين دائم يحيط بحاضر السكّان ومستقبلهم بخصوصيّة منتهَكة وحياة عارية تمامًا يمكن اقتحامها في كلّ لحظة.  
 

عامر صقر (38 عامًا) صاحب مخبز من سكّان مخيّم عسكر للّاجئين - شرقيّ نابلس، تحدّث عن دخول الجنود المتواتر إلى المخيّم وأثر ذلك على عمله:   

أسكن أنا وعائلتي في مخيّم عسكر للّاجئين وأذهب كلّ يوم إلى المخبز الواقع على الشارع الرئيسي المؤدّي من مخيّم بلاطة للّاجئين إلى نابلس وقرى شرق نابلس. في العادة نصل أنا والعمّال إلى المخبز في الساعة الثالثة قبيل الفجر ونباشر العمل فورًا. ولكنّنا نعاني في السنوات الأخيرة من دخول الجنود برفقة المستوطنين إلى قبر يوسف مرّة كلّ أسبوعين تقريبًا. عندما يدخل الجنود ينتشرون في كلّ مكان ولا نتمكّن من الوصول إلى مكان العمل في الموعد. إنّهم لا يسمحون لأحد بالعبور. نُجبر على البقاء في منازلنا إلى ان يغادر الجنود أو نبحث عن طرق بديلة للوصول إلى المخبز. وحتّى حين ننجح في الوصول لا نستطيع فتح المخبز نظرًا لقربه من مركز الأحداث. عندما أفتح المخبز بعد انتهاء المواجهات أجده مشبّعًا بروائح الغاز فأضطرّ إلى فتح جميع الأبواب والانتظار إلى أن تتلاشى الروائح لكي نبدأ العمل. التأخّر في فتح المخبز يسبّب تأخيرًا في إعداد العجين ومن ثمّ تأخيرًا في وصول الخبز إلى السكّان وبالتالي هم يبحثون بدائل في أماكن أخرى. في نهاية الأمر لا يُباع الخبز الذي أعددناه فأضطرّ إلى بيع جزء منه بسعر الخسارة وتوزيع الجزء المتبقّي على الفقراء. 

نور دويكات (58 عامًا) متزوّجة وأمّ لخمسة أولاد تسكن على بُعد نحو خمسين مترًا من المدخل الشمالي لمخيّم بلاطة للّاجئين. في إفادتها التي أدلت بها لبتسيلم يوم 12.9.2017 قالت: 

في28.8.2017 قرابة الساعة 23:50 ليلاً سمعت صوت جلبة خارج البيت. كان ابني قد أخبرني من قبل أنّ المستوطنين سيأتون لزيارة قبر يوسف والصلاة هناك. عادةً يأتي الجنود قبل وصول المستوطنين وينتشرون في محيط القبر وجميع أنحاء المنطقة الواقعة إلى الشرق منه ثمّ يأتي المستوطنون بعد ذلك بساعتين تقريبًا.

أكثر ما يزعجني صوت إطلاق الرّصاص وقنابل الصوت والغاز المسيل للدموع. الغاز رائحته فظيعة وأخاف أيضًا أن يختنق أحدهم بسببه فأقوم بإغلاق جميع نوافذ البيت وأشغّل المكيّف حالما أعلم بوصول الجنود. في الماضي قبل الشبكات الاجتماعية لم نكن نعلم مسبقًا عن دخول الجيش ولكن اليوم نحن نعلم بذلك عبر الشبكات الاجتماعية وهكذا يمكننا أخذ احتياطاتنا - نهتمّ بالعودة مبكرًا إلى بيوتنا وعدم التأخّر في الخارج؛ نُبلغ الضيوف عن الأمر لأنّه قد حدث في الماضي أن كان لدينا ضيوف واضطررت لإخراجهم عبر طرق التفافيّة؛ وعندما يطلب أحفادي المبيت عندي أقول لهم أنّي أرحّب بهم في كلّ يوم ولكن ليس في يوم وصول المستوطنين. 
 

ريما دويكات (47 عامًا) متزوّجة وأمّ لأربعة تسكن في مخيّم بلاطة للّاجئين حدّثت في إفادة أدلت بها يوم 12.9.2017:

רימא דוויכאת. צילום: סלמא א-דיבעי, בצלם, 1.11.17

في 28.8.17 قرب منتصف الليل سمعت ضجّة كبيرة في الشارع وقدّرت بأنّ الجنود قد وصلوا. فهمت أنّنا لن نستطيع النوم في هذه الليلة. لا أقدر على النوم بوجود الجنود بسبب الضجّة التي يثيرونها عندما يمشون حول البيت وبسبب إطلاق النيران وقنابل الغاز المسيل للدموع وقنابل الصوت التي يقذفونها. أحيانًا يأتي الأولاد إلى غرفتي ويقولون لي: "ماما، الجنود على الدّرجات قبالة بيتنا"، ويبقون معي في الفراش لأنّهم يخافون. أخشى أن يطرق الجنود بابنا بعُنف ويرعبوا أولادي لانّ غرفتهم عند مدخل البيت بالضّبط. في العاة، عندما يدخل الجنود المنطقة نبقى مستيقظين أنا وأولادي ولا نستطيع النوم حتّى يغادر الجنود. في معظم الأحيان يبقون حتّى ساعات الصباح الأولى وعندها فقط أنام. 

عندما أستيقظ في الصباح وأفتح النوافذ يكون الجوّ ما زال مشبّعًا بروائح الغاز. عدّة مرّات سقطت قنابل الغاز في حديقة بيتنا ورغم أنّنا نغلق النوافذ لا تنفكّ الروائح تتسرّب إلى البيت وتزعج.

ما أن يلحظ الشبّان وجود الجنود في المخيّم يبدأون في رشق الحجارة نحوهم وعندها تندلع مواجهات في المنطقة كلّها. لا يمكن أن يمرّ وجود الجنود دون مقاومة من جانب الشبّان. هم أيضًا يشعلون الإطارات وهذا يزعجنا كثيرًا ناهيك عن أنّنا نخشى أن يصاب أحدهم. نحن نشعر كما لو كنّا أسرى أو رهائن داخل بيوتنا ولا نعرف كيف ستنتهي الليلة. هذه المعاناة مستمرّة منذ سنين. يأتي الجنود لكي يؤمّنوا وجود المستوطنين ونحن نُجبر على حبس أنفسنا داخل بيوتنا وكأنّنا في سجن. هذا ليس عدلاً أبدًا. 

سمر عميرة (43 عامًا) متزوّجة وأمّ لخمسة تعمل في مركز التنسيق في المخيّم وتسكن في الطرف الشرقي من مخيّم بلاطة للّاجئين. في إفادتها التي أدلت بها يوم 28.9.2017 قالت:

في يوم 28.9.17 قرابة الساعة 1:00 استيقظت على صوت ضجيج وعرفت فورًا أنّ الجنود موجودون في الحيّ. نهضت فورًا وأغلقت النوافذ في جميع الغرف لئلّا يتسرّب الغاز المسيل للدموع. سمعت صوت طلقات وعندها استيقظ أولادي جميعًا - وتتراوح أعمارهم بين 8 و-17 سنة. اقترب ولداي - 13 و 16 عامًا - من النوافذ وأرادا فتحها لمشاهدة ما يجري في الخارج لكنّي صرخت عليهما ليعود كلّ منهما إلى فراشه.

كلّما دخل الجنود إلى المخيّم لحماية المستوطنين يتكرّر الأمر نفسه - تبدأ المواجهات وأدخل أنا في حالة خوف وتوتّر. أنا أمّ وخوفي ليس على نفسي وإنّما على أولادي. الكبار يريدون الخروج والانضمام للمواجهات والصغيرتان سيرين وليان ترتعدان خوفًا ولا تقدران على النوم. تخافان أن يدخل الجنود إلى البيت أو أن يصاب أحد أفراد العائلة. وأنا أجد نفسي متمزّقة بين الكبار والصغار ولا أعرف ماذا أفعل. أظلّ مستيقظة طيلة الوقت أتابع ما يحدث وأتابع أولادي. لا أهدأ إلاّ بعد أن يخلد جميعهم إلى النوم. فقط عندئذٍ أكون متأكّدة من أنّهم لن يخرجوا إلى الشارع أو لن يقفوا قرب النوافذ فيتعرّضوا لنيران الجنود. 
قرابة الساعة 5:30 شاهدت في الفيسبوك أنّ الجنود غادروا المخيّم. أيقظت أولادي الصغار لكي يذهبوا إلى المدرسة. رائحة الغاز كانت في كلّ مكان. ذهب أولادي إلى المدرسة وتوجّهت أنا إلى مكان عملي في مركز التنسيق في المخيم. طيلة النهار كنت أنظر إلى الساعة انتظرت انتهاء دوامي لكي أعود إلى البيت وأنام. 
 

يوم الأربعاء الموافق 1.11.2017 دخل الجنود إلى المخيّم قرب منتصف الليل وتطوّرت مواجهات بينهم وبين الشبّان. فريال دويكات أرملة في الـ53، تسكن وحدها في نابلس في منزل يبعد نحو مائة متر عن قبر يوسف. نحو الساعة 4:00 صباحًا استيقظت من نومها على صوت تحطّم زجاج ورائحة غاز مسيل للدموع تملأ منزلها.

في إفادة أدلت بها يوم 1.11.2017 قالت فريال: 

Thumbnail

بعد منتصف الليل بقليل كنت في المطبخ أعدّ لنفسي كأس بابونج. سمعت ضجّة آتية من الشارع وعندما نظرت عبر النافذة رأيت عددًا من الشبّان في الشارع وسيّارات شرطة فلسطينيّة تمرّ هناك. فهمت أنّه من المتوقّع دخول المستوطنين - في العادة يغادر أفراد الشرطة الفلسطينية قبل وصول الجيش بقليل. الجيش يأتي أوّلاً ثمّ يليه المستوطنون الذين يأتون للصلاة في قبر يوسف.

قلت لنفسي أنّنا لن ننام في هذه الليلة - بسبب ضجيج المستوطنين وشبّان المخيّم وإطلاق النيران وروائح الغاز المسيل للدموع. قرابة الساعة 3:15 قُبَيل الفجر أطفأ المستوطنون الأضواء التي يجلبونها معهم لإنارة الشوارع. اطمأنّيت وأخذت في الاستعداد للنوم. غفوت لفترة قصيرة جدًا. في الساعة 4:00 صباحًا استيقظت على صوت تحطّم زجاج. رفعت رأسي ولكن لم أقدر على رؤية شيء. البيت كلّه كان مليئًا بالدّخان. اختنقت وظننت أنّ بيتي يحترق. بصعوبة بالغة تمكّنت من ارتداء عباءة طويلة فتحت باب البيت وأخذت في الصراخ طلبًا للنّجدة. اتّصلت برمزي ابن أخي الذي يسكن قريبًا منّي وطلبت أن يأتي هو وزوجته لنجدتي نظرًا لكونهم قريبين منّي. بعد ذلك مباشرة انهرت وتهاويت أرضًا ثمّ نهضت مجدّدًا بصعوبة كبيرة. حاولت المشي ووقعت مرّة ثانية. في هذه الأثناء وصل رمزي وزوجته وساعدوني على النهوض. 
 

رائدة دويكات (41 عامًا) متزوّجة وأمّ لخمسة حدّثت في إفادتها عمّا جرى عندما وصلت إلى منزل فريال: 

لم أعرف ماذا أفعل. كلّ المنطقة كانت مليئة برائحة الغاز المسيل للدموع. كانت دموعي تسيل بلا توقّف وأخذت في السّعال. خرجت سريعًا إلى الشارع الرئيسي. رأيت سيّارة شرطة فلسطينية كانت قد وصلت بعد انسحاب الجيش والمستوطنين. طلبت منهم المساعدة فقالوا إنّهم قد طلبوا سيّارة إسعاف؛ ربّما لأنّهم سمعوا صراخ فريال وفهموا أنّ هناك مصابين من الغاز فالرّائحة كانت في كلّ مكان. 
بعد وقت قصير وصلت سيّارة الإسعاف وسيّارة إطفائيّة. حاولت في هذه الأثناء مساعدة فريال بالبصل والماء ولكن وضعها كان صعبًا. عندما وصلت سيّارة الإسعاف نقلها الطاقم إلى داخل السيارة ووصلوها بالأكسجين. قالوا إنّهم يريدون نقلها إلى المستشفى ولكن فريال رفضت. خافت على منزلها إذ إنّها اعتقدت بأنه يحترق. لكن تبيّن لاحقًا أنّ الدخان سببه قنبلة غاز اخترقت الشباك وسقطت في صالون المنزل. رأيت قنبلة غاز أخرى عند مدخل المنزل. 

بعد أن تحسّن وضع فريال قليلاً غادرت سيارة الإسعاف المكان. نحن بقينا معها في الشارع قرب مدخل البيت. لم يستطع أحد دخول المنزل حتى الساعة 6:00 صباحًا. في الصباح دخلنا وفحصنا وضع المنزل. تناولت فريال دواءها إذ تعاني من الضغط منذ عدّة سنوات. حتّى بعد مرور ساعتين كانت رائحة الغاز لا تزال في المنزل. 

المكان

Skip to main content
Israeli Border Police officers escorting worshippers stand guard at a window hole at "Joseph's Tomb". Photo by Nir Elias, 4 July, 2011
Menu
Topics

The occupation routine in Balata Refugee Camp near Nablus: Army regularly accompanies hundreds of Jewish worshippers to “Joseph’s Tomb,” imposing draconian restrictions on the residents

The “Joseph’s Tomb” compound is situated on the eastern outskirts of Nablus, close to Balata Refugee Camp. In an unusual step, the Interim Accords (“Oslo Agreement”) established that the compound would constitute an Israeli enclave inside Area A. Once every two weeks (and sometimes as often as twice a week, during the Jewish High Holiday season), the Israeli Army accompanies night-time visits to the compound attended by hundreds of Jewish worshippers. During the visits, the military imposes sweeping restrictions on the freedom of movement of Palestinian residents in the area, who become prisoners in their own homes. During the visits, youths from Balata Refugee Camp throw stones at the worshippers and the security forces. The soldiers respond by firing tear gas, which spreads into local homes. In some cases, live fire is used. Youths have been injured during these clashes.

The visits make the lives of local residents a misery. The fact that they take place at night disrupts the residents’ sleep, due to the noise caused by the worshippers and the confrontations. Each such visit raises anxiety among the residents – including families with young children, elderly people, and the sick – who are forced to close themselves in their homes.

 

Thumbnail
Palestinian girls pass by the ''Tomb of Joseph'' compound (the white dome) in Balata refugee camp. 1 Nov. 2017.

During the period August-October 2017, B'Tselem documented several visits to the tomb compound, each involving hundreds of worshippers. Dozens of soldiers accompanied the visits, shutting down the area and restriction the movement of residents inside the camp. B'Tselem field researcher Salma a-Deb’i collected testimonies from residents in the area, as detailed below.

For many years, Israel has preferred the interests of Jewish worshippers to the rights of the Palestinian residents, including their right to security, wellbeing, and their daily routine. This order of priorities is not unique to “Joseph’s Tomb.” For fifty years, Israel has maintained a violent daily routine in the Territories. All the Israeli authorities act above the heads of the Palestinian residents, who are completely excluded from decision-making processes relating to their lives. The combination of the lack of political representation for Palestinians and the imposition of an Israeli law enforcement system that consistently prevents action against those who harm Palestinians means that there are virtually no limits on physical or administrative violence, and allows all aspects of their lives to be harmed. In some cases, Palestinian rights are violated without any justification, while in others flimsy security justifications are employed. In all cases, however, the violations are grounded in the overt preference for Israeli needs and interests. This is true throughout the Territories, and it is true in the reality imposed on the residents of Balata Refugee Camp. As the testimonies explain, this reality is dominated by constant uncertainty regarding the present and the future, the violation of privacy, and the potential disruption of personal life at any moment.

‘Amer Saqer, 38, a bakery owner and resident of ‘Askar Refugee Camp to the east of Nablus, described the impact of the frequent entry of soldiers to the camp on his work:

I live with my family in ‘Askar Refugee Camp, and every day I walk to my bakery, which is situated on the road connecting Balata Refugee Camp to Nablus and the villages to the east. My workers and I usually arrive at the bakery at three o’clock in the morning and start work straight away. But in recent years we have suffered from the visits by settlers to Jacob’s Tomb once every two weeks, accompanied by soldiers. When they arrive, they deploy everywhere and we can’t get to work on time. They don’t let anyone through. We have to stay at home until the soldiers leave, or search for alternative routes to the bakery. Even if we manage to get here we can’t open the bakery, because it’s close to the center of the events. When I open the bakery after the clashes have ended, it’s full of tear gas and I have to open the doors and wait for it to disperse so that we can work. The delay in opening the bakery leads to delays in preparing the dough, so that residents get their bread late and look elsewhere. I end up with unsold bread and have to sell some of it at a loss and give the remainder to the poor.

Nur Dweikat, 58, married and mother of five, lives about 50 meters from the northern entrance to Balata Refugee Camp. In testimony taken by B'Tselem on 12 September 2017, she stated:

On 28 August 2017, at about 11:50 PM, I heard a commotion outside my home. My son had told me earlier that the settlers were planning to enter Joseph’s Tomb in order to pray there. Before the settlers come, the soldiers usually disperse through the area around the tomb and the whole area to the east, and about two hours later the settlers arrive.

What bothers me are the sounds of shooting, stun grenades, and tear gas. The gas smell and burning sensation in the are terrible and I’m scared that someone will choke because of it, so I close all the windows at home and turn the air-conditioner on as soon as I hear that the soldiers are coming. In the past, before social media, we didn’t know in advance that the army was coming, but today we learn of this through the social media and we can prepare. We make sure to get home early and not to dawdle outside, and to let our guests know about it. A few times in the past, we had guests and had to smuggle them out by roundabout routes. When my grandchildren want to come to sleep over, I tell them that they’re welcome on any day, but not when the settlers come.

Rima Dweikat, 47, married and mother of four, is a resident of Balata Refugee Camp. In testimony taken on 12 September 2017, she stated:

Rima DweikatOn 28 August 2017, at around midnight, I heard a lot of noise from the street and assumed that the soldiers had arrived. I realized that we wouldn’t be able to go to sleep. I can’t get to sleep when they come, because of the noise they make as they walk outside our home, their shooting, and the tear gas and stun grenades they throw. Sometimes the children come into my room and say, ‘Mom, the soldiers are on the steps in front of our home.’ They stay in bed with me because they’re scared. I’m worried that the soldiers will bang on our door and scare my children, whose room is right by the entrance to our home. When the soldiers arrive, the children and I usually stay awake and don’t manage to go to sleep until they leave the area. They usually stay until the early morning, and only then I fall asleep.

When I wake up in the morning and open the windows, the air outside is still saturated with tear gas. Sometimes the gas canisters fall in our garden, and although we close the windows the smell still gets in and bothers us.

As soon as the youths in the camp see the soldiers, they start throwing stones at them, and then clashes break out all over the place. There’s no way that the presence of soldiers will pass without resistance from the youths. The youths also burn tires, which bothers us a lot, and we’re afraid that someone will get hurt. We feel like hostages inside our own home and we don’t know how the night will end. This suffering has gone on for years already. The soldiers come to protect the settlers, and we have to close ourselves off in our home as if it was a prison. It’s totally unjust.

Samer ‘Amira, 43. married and mother of five, works at the Coordination Center in Balata Refugee Camp and works on the eastern edge of the camp. In testimony taken on 28 September 2017, she stated:

On 28 September 2017, at about 1:00 AM, a noise awoke me and I immediately knew that there were soldiers in the neighborhood. I got up straight away and closed the windows in all the rooms so that tear gas wouldn’t come in. I hear shots, and then all my children, aged eight through 17, woke up. My sons, ages 16 and 13, went to the windows and wanted to open them so that they could see what was happening outside, but I shouted at them to go back to bed.

Every time the soldiers enter the camp to protect the settlers, it all starts over again: clashes break out and I get scared and nervous. I’m a mother and I’m not worried for myself, but for my children. The older children want to go out and join the confrontations. My little girls Sireen and Lian, shake with fear and can’t get to sleep. They are afraid that the soldiers will come into our home or that someone from our family will get hurt. I find myself torn between the older children and the little ones, and I don’t know what to do. I stay awake all the time, following what’s happening and watching my children. I only calm down when everyone goes to sleep. Only then I can be sure that they won’t go out onto the street or stand by the windows, exposed to shooting by the soldiers.

At about 5:30 AM I saw on Facebook that the soldiers had left the camp. I woke up my little children so that they could go to school. The smell of gas was everywhere. The children went off to school and I went to work at the Coordination Center in the camp. I spent the whole day just looking at my watch waiting for my shift to end so that I could go home to sleep.

On Wednesday, 1 November 2017, soldiers entered the camp around midnight and clashes erupted with local youths. Firiyal Dweikat, a widow aged 53, lives on her own in a house in Nablus about 100 meters from Joseph’s Tomb. At about 4:00 AM Dweikat woke up to the sound of breaking glass tear gas filling her home.

In testimony taken on 1 November 2017, Firiyal Dweikat stated:

Firiyal Dweikat

Just after midnight I was in the kitchen making myself a cup of chamomile tea. I heard a noise on the street, and when I looked out of the window I saw a few young men on the road, and Palestinian police officers driving past in a patrol vehicle. I realized that the settlers were going to be coming. The Palestinian police officers usually leave just before the military arrives. They come first and then the settlers come to pray at Joseph’s Tomb.

I thought to myself that I wouldn’t be getting any sleep that night, because of the noise of the settlers and the youths from the camp, the shooting, and the smell and burningof tear gas. At about 3:15 AM the settlers turned off the lights they bring with them to light up the streets. I calmed down and got ready to go to bed. I fell asleep, but only for a very short time. At 4:00 AM I woke up to the sound of breaking glass. I lifted my head up but I couldn’t see anything – the whole house was full of smoke. I choked and thought that my home was going up in flames. I just managed to put clothes on, opened my door, and began to shout for help. I called my nephew Ramzi, who lives nearby, and asked him and his wife to come to help me because they’re close by. Straight after that I collapsed and fell to the ground. I barely managed to get back up again. I tried to walk but fell over again. In the meantime Ramzi and his wife Ghada had arrived, and they helped me get up.

Ghada Dweikat, 41, married and mother of five, described what happened when she reached Firiyal’s home:

I didn’t know what to do. There was a smell of tear gas in the whole area. My eyes were watering constantly and I was coughing because of the tear gas. I quickly went out toward the main road. I saw a Palestinian police patrol vehicle that was arriving after the army and settlers had left. I asked them to help and they told me that they had already called for an ambulance. Maybe they heard Firiyal shouting and realized that she’d been injured by the gas, because there was a smell of gas everywhere.

A little later the ambulance and fire brigade arrived. In the meantime I tried to help Firiyal with onion and water, but she was in a bad condition. When the ambulance arrived, the crew took her in and connected her to oxygen. They wanted to take her to hospital but she refused. She was afraid that her home was going to burn down. But later we realized that the smoke was from a gas canister that came into the living room through the window. I saw another gas canister by the entrance to the house.

After Firiyal’s condition improved a bit, the ambulance left the scene. We stayed with her on the street, by the entrance to her home. No-one was able to go inside until 6:00 AM. In the morning we went in to inspect the house. Firiyal, who has suffered from high blood pressure for several years, took her medicines. Even after two hours there was still a smell of tear gas in the house.

Location