Skip to main content
Menu
المواضيع

قطاع غزة

كارثة إنسانيّة تحدث في قطاع غزّة ليست نتيجة كارثة طبيعية وإنّما هي من صُنع يد الإنسان - نتيجة مباشرة لسياسة إسرائيل المعلنة. وعليه فإنّ في يد إسرائيل تغيير هذه السياسة وإحداث تحسين جدّي في جودة حياة السكّان وفي يدها الاستمرار في سياستها غير المبرّرة وعديمة الرحمة، إذ هي تحكم على نحو مليونَي إنسان يسكنون قطاع غزة أن يعيشوا في فقر مدقع وفي ظروف تكاد لا تليق ببشر.

في بداية شهر أيلول 2015 نشرت لجنة التجارة والتنمية - التابعة لهيئة الأمم المتحدة - تقريرًا حول الوضع في القطاع - بعد ثماني سنوات من الحصار وثلاث جولات من الحرب. حذّر التقرير من أنّه دون تغيير جدّي في سياسة إسرائيل لا إمكانيّة لإعادة إعمار القطاع وأنّه في العام 2020 قد يصبح هذا المكان "غير قابل للعيش فيه". في الفترة التي مرّت منذ نشر التقرير لم تغيّر إسرائيل سياستها بل وتشدّدت في تطبيقها والوضع يستمرّ في التدهور.

مسؤوليّة إسرائيل

تدّعي دولة إسرائيل أنّ وجودها كسلطة احتلال في قطاع غزّة قد انتهى منذ أيلول 2005 - حين أخلت جميع المستوطنات وسحبت قوّات الجيش من القطاع وأعلنت إنهاء الحكم العسكري هناك. وفقًا لهذا التصوّر فإنّ إسرائيل معفيّة منذ ذلك الحين من أيّة مسؤوليات أو واجبات تجاه السكّان سوى الحدّ الأدنى من الواجبات الإنسانيّة بقصد منع وقوع أزمة حادّة في القطاع. هذا الموقف ليس له أساس. في السنوات الأولى بعد تنفيذ "خطة الانفصال" ساد إبهام قضائيّ في شأن الواجبات الملقاة على عاتق إسرائيل. ولكن منذ ذلك الحين أخذ يترسّخ التصوّر القائل أنّ نطاق الواجبات ينبغي أن يوازي نطاق السيطرة. ورغم أنّه من الواضح أنّ إسرائيل لم تعد مسؤولة عن حفظ النظام العامّ داخل القطاع ولا يقع عليها واجب عموميّ تجاه رفاهية سكّانه وفقًا لأحكام الاحتلال، فإنّ إسرائيل ما زالت هي التي تحدّد كيف تبدو الحياة اليومية لسكّان القطاع وبالتالي فهي التي ينبغي أن تتحمّل مسؤوليّتهم.

رغم إعلان إنهاء الحكم العسكري تُواصل إسرائيل السيطرة على نواحي جوهرية من حياة السكّان في القطاع: فهي تتحكّم بالمعابر البرّية – باستثناء معبر رفح وبالمجالَين البرّي والبحريّ. نظرًا لذلك تشرف إسرائيل إشرافًا يكاد يكون تامًّا على حركة الأشخاص والبضائع من وإلى القطاع وتسيّرها وفقًا لاعتباراتها هي. إنّها تفعل ذلك حتّى عندما يطلب سكّان القطاع المرور في إسرائيل ليصلوا إلى الضفة الغربية أو إلى دول أخرى.

صحيح أنّ فتح معبر رفح في يد مصر التي لم تفتحه منذ الانفصال سوى لفترات قصيرة. ولكنّ هذا المعبر غير مهيّأ منذ البداية لعبور البضائع بشكل جارٍ وإنّما لعبور الأشخاص فقط. غير أنّ سكّان القطاع لكي يصلوا إلى دولة أخرى عليهم أن يسلكوا طريقًا طويلة بل وخطيرة؛ أمّا الذين يبتغون الوصول إلى الضفة الغربية - بما في ذلك القدس الشرقيّة - أو إلى الأردن فطريقهم أطول بكثير ممّا يتقبّله العقل.


نظرًا إلى الواقع الحالي فإن إسرائيل لا تستطيع التبرؤ من مسؤوليتها تجاه حياة سكان القطاع.  إنّ نطاق مسؤوليّة إسرائيل عن حياة سكّان القطاع يتغيّر وفقًا لتغيّر نطاق سيطرتها: حين يكون لسياسة إسرائيل تأثير مباشر أو غير مباشر على سكّان القطاع فمن واجبها أن تأخذ بعين الاعتبار آثار هذه السياسة عليهم.

فرض الحصار ونتائجه

إنّ عزل قطاع غزّة عن العالم - وضمن ذلك عزلها عن الضفّة الغربية - جزء من سياسة تتّبعها إسرائيل منذ سنين طويلة. ابتدأ تطبيق هذه السياسة منذ تسعينات القرن الماضي عندما فرضت إسرائيل الحصار على جميع الأراضي المحتلّة وفرضت على كلّ فلسطيني يسكن هناك - سوى سكّان المناطق التي ضمّتها إلى حدودها - تقديم طلب شخصيّ للحصول على تصريح دخول شخصيّ إذا أراد دخول إسرائيل، حتّى إذا كان ذلك عبورًا في أراضيها بغرض الوصول من غزّة إلى الضفة أو العكس أو بغرض السفر إلى الخارج.

بعد اندلاع الانتفاضة الثانية شدّدت إسرائيل القيود على حركة وتنقّل الفلسطينيين وفرضت قيودًا صارمة على حرّية الحركة من قطاع غزّة وإليها، وبذلك عزلت القطاع عزلاً شبه تامّ عن الضفة الغربية. منعت إسرائيل دخول سكّان القطاع إلى إسرائيل لغرض زيارة الأقرباء أو الاجتماع بالزوج/الزوجة. إضافة إلى ذلك قلّصت إلى الحدّ الأدنى زيارات الفلسطينيين مواطني إسرائيل والقدس الشرقيّة لأقربائهم في القطاع. فوق ذلك صعّبت إسرائيل على عموم سكّان القطاع السفر إلى دول أخرى وبالنسبة لكثيرين منهم منعت ذلك منعًا تامًّا. كذلك قيّدت تصدير واستيراد البضائع وأحيانًا أوقفت ذلك تمامًا. علاوة على ذلك منعت دولة إسرائيل معظم سكّان القطاع من العمل داخل إسرائيل وبذلك فقد عشرات الآلاف مصدر رزقهم. القيود التي فرضتها إسرائيل على حركة البضائع والعمّال نتج عنها ركود اقتصادي عميق في القطاع ومسّ في القدرة على كسب الرزق وتدنّي مستوى المعيشة بشكلٍ حادّ.

في صيف العام 2007 بعد سيطرة حماس على قطاع غزّة استغلّت إسرائيل سيطرتها على المعابر لمحاصرتها: حوّلت نحو مليونَي شخص إلى سجناء داخل القطاع وجلبت على القطاع انهيارًا اقتصاديًّا وجعلت سكّانه عالة على الغوث الدوليّ.

في إطار سياسة الحصار منعت إسرائيل خروج الأشخاص من أراضي القطاع والدخول إليها واستيراد البضائع- وشمل ذلك تقييد دخول الموادّ الغذائية والألعاب والورق والتصدير من القطاع إلى إسرائيل والضفة الغربية والخارج. في شهر تشرين الأول 2010 كُشفت وثائق في أعقاب التماس يتعلّق بحرّية الوصول إلى المعلومات قدّمته منظمة "جيشاه - مسلك" تُظهر أنّ إسرائيل انتهجت "سياسة تقليص مقصودة" تقوم على حساب الحدّ الأدنى لاستهلاك السُّعرات الحراريّة المطلوب لبقاء سكّان القطاع على قيد الحياة.

في حزيران 2010 في أعقاب ضغط دوليّ على إسرائيل تلت أحداث السيطرة على سفينة مرمرة التركية قرّرت إسرائيل إجراء عدد من التسهيلات في سياسة الحصار. ضمن ذلك قبلت إسرائيل إدخال إضافات على قائمة البضائع التي تسمح بإدخالها إلى القطاع، وإتاحة دخول موادّ بناء للمشاريع العامّة ومشاريع الإسكان بإشراف دوليّ.

في هذا الإطار ألغت إسرائيل قائمة البضائع المسموح إدخالها إلى القطاع واستبدلتها بقائمة ممنوعات تفصيليّة تشمل موادّ يُمنع دخولها تمامًا - كالأسلحة وقائمة موادّ "مزدوجة الاستخدام" ترى إسرائيل أنّها قد تُستخدم لأغراض مدنيّة وعسكريّة في آن، وعليه ينبغي تقديم طلب تصريح خاصّ لإدخالها. تشمل هذه القائمة مئات الموادّ التي يمنع نقصها تطوير المصانع وإعادة إعمار البنى المدنيّة. إضافة إلى ذلك جعلت القيود المشدّدة على التصدير والتي بقيت على حالها قطاع غزة معزولاً، دون أيّة إمكانيّة لتنمية اقتصادية حقيقية. وما زال الحصار مستمرًّا منذ سنوات باستثناء تسهيلات معدودة أجريت خلالها.

كجزء من سياسة الحصار قلّصت إسرائيل المجال المسموح فيه الصيد البحري في قطاع غزة: حدّدت اتّفاقيات أوسلو مجالاً بعمق 20 ميل بحريّ (نحو 37 كم)، ولكن إسرائيل لم تُتح أبدًا الصيد في عمق يتجاوز 12 ميل بحريّ. وبمرور السنين قلّصت إسرائيل المجال أكثر وأكثر فجعلته أحيانًا بعُمق 3 ميل فقط ويتراوح اليوم بين 6-9 ميل بحريّ. كذلك يقيّد الجيش الصيد في المناطق المتاخمة لحدود مصر وإسرائيل. يطلق الجيش النيران على الصيادين بحجّة تجاوزهم المجال المحدّد ويعتقلهم ويصادر معدّاتهم. بذلك تمنع إسرائيل الصيّادين من الوصول إلى الثروة السمكيّة الغنيّة الموجودة في عُمق أبعد وتمسّ بقدرة آلاف الصيّادين والعمّال الأجيرين في الصناعات المتعلّقة على كسب الرزق وإعالة أسَرهم، إضافة إلى أنّها تحرم سكّان القطاع من مصدر غذائيّ حيويّ.

تسبّب الحصار في انهيار الاقتصاد في قطاع غزّة: في الرُّبع الثاني من العام 2017 بلغت نسبة البطالة 44%. في أوساط النساء بلغت هذه النسبة 71.5%، وفي أوساط الشباب تحت سنّ 29 بلغت 61.9%. نحو 80% من السكّان يعتمدون على مساعدات تقدّمها منظمات إنسانيّة ونحو 60% منهم يفتقدون الأمن الغذائي. في العام 2000 قبل فرض الحصار كانت نسبة البطالة في القطاع 18.9%.
 
وضع مرافق البنى التحتيّة والخدمات العامّة في القطاع في غاية السوء: نحو 96.2% من المياه المستخرجة في القطاع ملوّثة وغير صالحة للشرب بحيث يضطرّ السكّان إلى شراء المياه المحلّاة . أمّا الكهرباء فتزوّد للسكّان فقط لساعات معدودة في اليوم؛ ويعود ذلك في جزء منه إلى أزمة الوقود وثمن المياه الباهظ والقيود التي تفرضها إسرائيل على إدخال قطع الغيار اللازمة لمعالجة المنظومات القائمة بما في ذلك ترميم محطّة توليد الكهرباء - التي قصفتها إسرائيل عام 2006. النقص في الكهرباء يؤثّر أيضًا على مرافق المياه وتصريف مياه المجارير إذ يرتبط عملها بتزويد الكهرباء على نحوٍ مستمر. في غياب الكهرباء هذه المرافق تكاد تكون معطّلة تمامًا.

تزويد الكهرباء على نحوٍ منقوص وغير منتظم جلب نتائج هدّامة: انقطاع الكهرباء الدائم يسبّب أضرارًا للأجهزة الطبّية بحيث تضطرّ المستشفيات إلى اعتماد مولّدات الكهرباء وتقليص الخدمات التي تقدّمها - بما في ذلك تأجيل العمليّات غير المستعجلة وإخراج المرضى إلى بيوتهم قبل الأوان. تزويد الكهرباء غير المنتظم يمنع أيضًا تشغيل مضخّات المياه والآبار بشكل منتظم ممّا يعطّل تزويد المياه إلى المؤسّسات العامّة والمنازل، وهذه أيضًا جرى تقليصها بشكل حادّ. في هذه الظروف يضطرّ سكّان قطاع غزّة إلى تقليص كميّات المياه التي يشربونها وشراء المياه المحلّاة من مزوّدين في السوق الخاصّ. تفيد التقديرات أنّ نحو 68% من المياه المحلّاة ملوّثة هي أيضًا وهذا يزيد من احتمالات انتشار الأمراض والأوبئة بين السكّان. مشاغل تطهير مياه المجارير تعمل بشكل جزئيّ فقط فجرى تقصير دورة معالجة مياه المجارير بحيث تصبّ هذه في البحر وهي غير مطهّرة تمامًا.

في عالم يُعتبر فيه التزوّد المنتظم بالكهرباء من الحقوق الأساسيّة تمسّ انقطاعات الكهرباء بقدرة سكّان القطاع على إدارة مجريات حياتهم على نحوٍ طبيعيّ ومعقول، إذ لا تتيح لهم استخدام الغسّالات والبرّادات وسخّانات المياه وغيرها ببساطة كبقيّة البشر. هذه الأجهزة التي هي جزء لا يتجزّأ من حياة مليارات البشر في هذا العالم بمن فيهم بشر يعيشون على بُعد كيلومترات معدودة من قطاع غزّة، لا يمكن استخدامها في القطاع سوى لوقت محدّد وفقًا لساعات تزويد الكهرباء.

مستوى الخدمات الصحّية في قطاع غزّة أبعد ما يكون عن تلبية احتياجات السكّان وعلاجات طبّية كثيرة لا تتوفّر هناك. تمنع إسرائيل الأطبّاء من السفر للمشاركة في دورات استكمال طبّية ومتابعة المستجدّات العالميّة في مجال عملهم. علاوة على ذلك فإنّ إدخال الأجهزة الطبية الجديدة أو قطع الغيار لإصلاح الأجهزة الموجودة كلاهما رهن بموافقة إسرائيل، وأحيانًا كثيرة تصدر هذه موافقتها بعد تأخير كبير وفي أحيان أخرى لا توافق أصلاً.

جولات القتال

شنّت إسرائيل ثلاث مرّات منذ "الانفصال" ما تسمّيه "حملات عسكريّة" على قطاع غزة.  جولات القتال هذه - والتي قتلت إسرائيل خلالها آلاف الأشخاص وهدمت آلاف المنازل ودمّرت البنى التحتية التي كانت أصلاً على شفا انهيار - فاقمت من صعوبة الأوضاع في قطاع غزّة. استمرار الحصار الذي تفرضه إسرائيل على القطاع يمنع إعادة إعمار القطاع ويترك عشرات الآلاف من سكّانه بلا مأوى.

"الرصاص المصبوب": في 27.12.2008 شنّت إسرائيل الحملة العسكرية " الرصاص المصبوب" التي استمرّت حتى 18.1.2009. وفقًا لمعطيات منظّمة "بتسيلم"، قتلت إسرائيل خلال القتال 1,391 فلسطينيًّا بينهم على الأقلّ 759 مدنيًّا لم يشاركوا في القتال ومن بين هؤلاء المدنيّين 318 تحت سنّ الـ18. كذلك ألحقت إسرائيل أضرارًا جسيمة بالمباني ومرافق البنى التحتيّة وبضمنها مرافق الكهرباء والماء والمجاري وحيث كانت هذه على شفا انهيار من قبْل الحملة، فقد تسبّبت إسرائيل في شلّها تمامًا. وفق معطيات الأمم المتحدة، هدمت إسرائيل أكثر من 3,500 منزلًا مخلّفة آلاف الأشخاص دون مأوى ودون منزل يعودون إليه. خلال الحملة أطلق الفلسطينيون الصواريخ وقذائف الهاوْن على إسرائيل معلنين أنّهم يستهدفون المدنيّين الإسرائيليين. نتيجة لذلك قُتل ثلاثة مواطنين إسرائيليين وأحد عناصر قوّات الأمن. كذلك قُتل خلال هذه الحملة تسعة جنود أربعة منهم بنيران جنود آخرين.

"عامود السّحاب": في 14.11.2012 شنّت إسرائيل الحملة العسكرية "عامود السّحاب". استمرّ القتال ثمانية أيّام، قتلت إسرائيل خلالها وفقًا لمعطيات "بتسيلم"، 167 فلسطينيًّا بينهم على الأقلّ 87 مدنيًّا لم يشاركوا في القتال ومن بين هؤلاء المدنيّين 32 تحت سنّ الـ18. خلال القتال قُتل أربعة مدنيّين إسرائيليين واثنان من عناصر قوّات الأمن جرّاء صواريخ أطلقها فلسطينيون من أراضي القطاع.


"الجُرف الصّامد": شنّت إسرائيل هذه "الحملة العسكرية" في 8.7.2014. استمرّ القتال خمسين يومًا حتى 26.8.2014، أمعنت خلالها إسرائيل هدمًا وتدميرًا لمرافق البنى التحتية المدنية في قطاع غزّة. وفقًا لمعطيات "بتسيلم"، قتلت إسرائيل أثناء القتال 2,202  فلسطينيًّا بينهم 1,391 مدنيًّا لم يشاركوا في القتال. من بين مجمل من لاقوا حتفهم هناك 546 أي نحو الرُّبع تحت سنّ الـ18، بينهم 526 مدنيّون لم يشاركوا في القتال. أثناء القتال قتل الفلسطينيون ستّة مدنيّين بينهم طفل واحد و-63 جنديًّا. كما قُتل ثلاثة جنود بنيران جنود آخرين وقُتل جنديّ آخر جرّاء حادث.

مناطق "ممنوعة"

تتعامل إسرائيل مع المنطقة المتاخمة للشريط الحدوديّ من جهة قطاع غزّة على أنّها جزء من أراضيها وتستغلّها لخلق "حزام أمنيّ" مقتطعة إيّاها من قطاع غزة الضيّق أصلاً. بعد اندلاع الانتفاضة الثانية حدّد الجيش مساحات واسعة متاخمة لحدود إسرائيل - غزّة (جزء كبير منها أراضي زراعيّة) ومنع الفلسطينيين من دخولها. لم تصرّح إسرائيل عن هذه السياسة بشكل رسميّ كذلك لم يوضّح الجيش للسكّان أيّ المساحات بالضبط يُحظر دخولهم إليها، ممّا فاقم الأخطار التي يتعرّض لها السكّان.

لأجل إنفاذ هذا الحظر طبّقت إسرائيل في هذه المناطق تعليمات إطلاق نار تتيح إطلاق النيران على الفلسطينيين الموجودين داخلها حتى إذا لم يعرّضوا أحدًا لخطر. نتيجة لتطبيق هذه التعليمات بلغ عدد القتلى المدنيّين في غير جولات القتال 83 فلسطينيًّا - منذ "الانفصال" في أيلول 2005 وحتّى نهاية أيلول 2017. من بين هؤلاء قُتل 39 أثناء وجودهم هناك كجزء من مجريات حياتهم العاديّة بعضهم من سكّان هذه المناطق وبعضهم ومزارعون. كذلك قُتل 12 آخرون لدى اقترابهم من الشريط الحدودي بقصد الدخول إلى إسرائيل بحثًا عن عمل.

إلى ذلك قُتل 28 فلسطينيًّا في مظاهرات أقيمت في جوار الجدار من جانبه الفلسطيني بينهم ثمانية شاركوا في القتال، ولكنّهم حين قُتلوا لم يكونوا مسلّحين. تنظَّم في السنوات الأخيرة مظاهرات أسبوعية كهذه في بضعة مواقع يشارك فيها المئات. يرفع المتظاهرون أعلام فلسطين على الجدار ويشعلون الإطارات ويحاولون تخريب الجدار أو حتّى اجتيازه ويرشقون بالحجارة الجنود الواقفين في الجانب الإسرائيلي من الجدار الحدوديّ. في معظم الحالات يتواجد في المكان عشرات الجنود محتمين وراء مكعّبات باطون أو سواتر ترابيّة على بُعد عشرات الأمتار من الجدار.

تبعًا لسياسات تطبيق قانون إسرائيل - لا يُستدعى أحد للمساءلة والمحاسبة على التسبُّب بهذه الوفيات رغم أنّ إطلاق النيران جرى دون أن يتهدّد الخطر حياة الجنود وفي مناطق يعلم الجيش جيّدًا أنّها مأهولة بسكّان مدنيّين - ومن هنا فقد استمرّ إطلاق النيران ووقوع الوفيات.

طريقة أخرى يتّبعها الجيش لإنفاذ حظر الدخول إلى هذه المناطق هي رشّ المبيدات على المزروعات في الأراضي المحاذية للجدار - داخل قطاع غزّة. يرشّ الجيش هذه الموادّ دون سابق إنذار ودون تبليغ السكّان أنّ عليهم اتّخاذ وسائل وقاية لحماية المزروعات التي تبعد مئات الأمتار عن الجدار - إذ تحمل الرّيح المبيدات إليها أيضًا وتلحق بها الأضرار. وأيضًا خلال جولات القتال دمّرت إسرائيل مساحات واسعة من الأراضي المحاذية للشريط الحدودي - بما في ذلك أحياء سكنيّة بأكملها.

في الماضي زرع السكّان في هذه الأراضي الأشجار المثمرة ودفيئات الخضار كما استخدموها لرعي الأغنام والأبقار التي يربّونها للاستهلاك المنزليّ. ولكن بسبب سياسة إسرائيل هذه وفي أعقاب تدمير الجيش لكثير من المزروعات في المنطقة اضطرّ مزارعون كثيرون إلى الانتقال لزراعة محاصيل تتطلّب عناية أقلّ وفي الوقت نفسه لا يستطيع الجيش الادّعاء أنّها تحجب الرؤية عنه. من هنا تنتشر اليوم في هذه المناطق الزراعة البعلية إذ لا تحتاج للريّ وتشمل الحنطة والشعير والفاصولياء ومختلف أنواع الخضار.

Skip to main content
Menu
Topics

The Gaza Strip

The Gaza Strip is the scene of a humanitarian disaster that has nothing to do with natural causes – it is entirely human-made, a direct result of official Israeli policy. Israel can choose to change this policy and considerably improve the lives of Gaza’s residents. It can also choose to continue this cruel, unjustifiable policy, which sentences the nearly two million people living in Gaza to a life of abject poverty and nearly inhuman conditions.

In early September 2015, the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development published a report on the situation in Gaza after eight years of blockade and three rounds of fighting between Israel and the Palestinians. The report cautioned that without significant changes to Israel’s policy, Gaza has no chance of recovery and will become unlivable by 2020. Rather than change its policies in the time that has elapsed since the report, Israel has made them stricter and the situation has deteriorated.

Israel’s responsibility

Israel contends that its role as occupying power in the Gaza Strip ended in September 2005, when it dismantled all settlements there, withdrew its military forces and declared the end of the military government. Further to this position, Israel contends that it no longer has any obligations or responsibilities toward Gaza residents, other than minimal humanitarian duties designed to prevent a serious crisis in the Gaza Strip.

This position is entirely baseless. In the early years following the implementation of Israel’s Disengagement Plan, there was some vagueness regarding Israel’s legal obligations toward Gaza. However, since then, the conception of degree of responsibility as commensurate with degree of control has taken root. Though Israel is clearly no longer responsible for keeping the peace inside Gaza, and is not generally obliged to see to the welfare of its residents under the laws of occupation, it still shapes the daily lives of Gaza residents, and as such, bears responsibility towards them.

Although Israel declared an end to its military administration in Gaza, it continues to control critical aspects of life there. It controls all border crossings by land, apart from Rafah, as well as Gaza’s sea and air space. Consequently, it monitors almost all movement of people and goods in and out of Gaza and regulates it according to Israeli interests. This holds true even when Gaza residents wish only to transit through Israel in order to reach the West Bank or other countries. Until recently, the opening of Rafah Crossing depended solely on Egyptian authorities, who opened it for short durations only since the disengagement – and even then, subject to various restrictions they set. In early November 2017, control of the crossing was transferred to the Palestinian Authority. However, even if Rafah Crossing will be open for Gaza residents, using it to get to other countries requires to take a circuitous, dangerous route – which is much longer than reasonable for those wishing only to reach the West Bank (including East Jerusalem) or Jordan.

Given this reality, Israel cannot shirk its responsibility for the lives of Gaza residents. The degree of responsibility varies in keep with the scope of control it wields. Where Israeli policy affects Gaza residents either directly or indirectly, Israel has a duty to also take into account how this policy affects them.

The blockade and its ramifications

Isolating Gaza from the rest of the world, including separating it from the West Bank, is part of a longstanding Israeli policy. The implementation began in the 1990s, with the imposition of a closure on all the Occupied Territories and the introduction of the requirement for every Palestinian from these territories – with the exception of areas annexed to Israel – to request a personal permit to enter Israel, even if only for the purpose of travel between the West Bank and the Gaza Strip or abroad. Over the years, Israel has made it increasingly difficult to obtain these permits.

After the second intifada broke out, Israel tightened the restrictions on Palestinian travel, imposing serious restrictions on travel to and from the Gaza Strip, and cutting it off from the West Bank almost completely. Entry of Gaza residents into Israel for the purpose of family visits or reunification with a spouse was prohibited. Visits by Palestinian citizens of Israel and residents of East Jerusalem to relatives in Gaza were reduced to a minimum. In addition, Israel severely restricted the ability of the entire population of Gaza to travel abroad, with many prohibited from doing so altogether. Import and export were restricted and often halted. Israel also banned most Gaza residents from working inside Israel, taking away the source of income of tens of thousands. The restrictions Israel imposed on the movement of goods and workers caused a deep recession in Gaza, impaired its residents’ earning capacity and caused a sharp decline in living conditions. In the summer of 2007, after Hamas took over the Gaza Strip, Israel used its control over the crossings to put Gaza under a blockade, turning almost two million people into prisoners inside the Gaza Strip, effecting an economic collapse and propelling Gaza residents into dependency on international aid.

As part of the blockade, Israel prohibited travel in and out of Gaza, the import of goods into Gaza – including restrictions on food items, toys and paper – and export to Israel, the West Bank or foreign countries. According to documents exposed in October 2010 following a Freedom of Information petition filed by the Gisha organization, it emerged that Israel had employed a “deliberate reductive policy”, based on calculations of the minimal caloric intake required for Gaza residents to survive.

In June 2010, following international pressure on Israel after the takeover of the Turkish flotilla to Gaza, Israel decided to lift some of these restrictions. Among other things, Israel agreed to expand the list of goods cleared for entry into Gaza and allowed the entry of building materials for public and housing projects – under international supervision.

As part of this new policy, Israel replaced the narrow list of items allowed into Gaza with a list of strictly prohibited items, such as weapons, as well as a list of “dual-use” items that Israel believes could have both civilian and military uses, which require an individual permit. The second list includes hundreds of items, without which the development of factories and the restoration of civilian infrastructure cannot proceed. The restrictions on export remain in place, leaving Gaza isolated and with no real opportunity for economic development. Aside from a very small number of mitigating measures introduced over the years, the blockade continues.

One aspect of the blockade is the reduction of the area where fishing is allowed in Gaza. The Oslo Accords stipulate a range of 20 nautical miles (about 37 km) off the Gaza shoreline, but Israel has never allowed fishing farther than 12 nautical miles out to sea. Over the years, Israel has gradually narrowed the fishing zone, sometimes to three nautical miles only, and currently between six and nine. The Israeli military also restricts fishing in areas bordering Israel and Egypt. The military fires at fishermen it alleges have sailed beyond the restricted zone, arrests them and confiscates their equipment. In so doing, Israel prevents Gaza fishermen from reaching the rich fishing grounds located further out to sea, impedes the ability of thousands of fishermen and people working in related sectors to provide for themselves and their families, and denies Gaza residents an essential source of food.

The blockade has driven Gaza’s economy into collapse. In the second quarter of 2017, unemployment reached 44%. Among women, the rate was 71.5%; in the under 29 age bracket, it was 61.9%. Some 80% of Gaza’s residents depend on humanitarian aid, and about 60% suffer from food insecurity. In the year 2000, before the blockade was imposed, Gaza’s unemployment rate was 18.9%.

Infrastructure and public services in Gaza are in dire condition. Some 95% of the water pumped in the Gaza Strip is contaminated and undrinkable. Residents must buy purified water. Electricity is supplied for just a few hours every day, partly because of a fuel shortage caused by high costs, and partly because of restrictions Israel imposes on the entry of spare parts to maintain existing systems – including repairing the power station Israel bombed in 2006. The electricity shortage affects water and sewage systems as well, which rely on a constant supply of power and barely function without it.

The lack of consistent power supply has disastrous effects. Routine power cuts damage medical equipment. Hospitals are forced to rely on generators and scale back services, including delaying non-urgent surgeries and releasing patients early. The intermittent power supply also impedes the routine operation of water pumps and wells. This interferes with the supply of water for household use and public institutions, which has been greatly reduced. Residents have no choice but to cut back on the amount of water they drink and buy desalinated drinking water from private suppliers. It is estimated that 68% of the desalinated water is also contaminated, increasing the risk of disease spreading among the population. Sewage treatment facilities are not fully functional. Treatment cycles have been reduced, and sewage is pumped into the sea after being only partially treated.

The blackouts also keep Gaza residents from leading reasonable lives, in a world where relying on a regular supply of power is a basic right. These blackouts preclude normal use of washing machines, refrigerators, water heating tanks and more. These appliances are an inseparable part of life for billions of people all over the world, including people who live mere kilometers away. In Gaza, residents can only use them during the few hours in which power is available.

The level of health services offered in the Gaza Strip falls far short of meeting the needs of the population, and many essential treatments are not available there. Israel prevents doctors from traveling to medical conferences and seminars to keep abreast of innovations in their field. In addition, bringing new medical equipment into Gaza, or spare parts to repair existing equipment, requires Israeli consent, which is often given after many delays and sometimes, not given at all.

Rounds of fighting

Since the disengagement in 2005, Israel has launched three “military operations in the Gaza Strip. In these rounds of fighting, Israel killed thousands of people, destroyed thousands of structures and severely harmed infrastructure that was already on the brink of collapse, exacerbating the already dire situation in Gaza. The continued blockade prevents reconstruction, and tens of thousands of persons are still homeless in Gaza.

Operation Cast Lead: On 27 December 2008, Israel launched Operation Cast Lead, which lasted until 18 January 2009. According to data collected by B’Tselem, Israel killed 1,391 Palestinians during the fighting, at least 759 of them civilians who had not taken part in the hostilities. Of these, 318 were under the age of 18. Israel also caused extensive damage to structures and to infrastructure, including electricity, water and sewage facilities that were on the brink of collapse even before the fighting and were now rendered completely dysfunctional. According to UN figures, Israel destroyed more than 3,500 homes, leaving tens of thousands of people without shelter or a home to return to. During the offensive, Palestinians fired rocket and mortar shells toward Israel, with the deliberate intention of harming civilians. Three Israeli civilians and one member of the Israeli security forces were killed as a result. In addition, nine Israeli soldiers were killed, four of them from friendly fire.

Operation Pillar of Defense: On 14 November 2012, Israel launched Operation Pillar of Defense. The fighting lasted eight days, during which, according to B’Tselem figures, Israel killed 167 Palestinians, at least 87 of whom had not participated in the fighting. Of these, 32 were under the age of 18. Over the course of the fighting, four Israeli civilians and two members of the security forces were killed by rockets that Palestinians fired from the Gaza Strip.

Operation Protective Edge: On 8 July 2014, Israel launched Operation Protective Edge. The fighting lasted 50 days, until 26 August 2014, with Israel wreaking havoc on Gaza’s civilian infrastructure. According to B’Tselem figures, during the fighting, Israel killed 2,202 Palestinians, including 1,391 who did not take part in the fighting. About a quarter of all the casualties, 546, were under age 18 and 526 of them did not take part in the fighting. During the fighting, Palestinians killed six Israeli civilians, including one child, and 63 soldiers. Three other soldiers were killed by friendly fire, and another was killed in an accident.

“No go” zones

Israel treats an area inside the Gaza Strip, near the border fence, as its own territory, using it to create a “buffer zone” inside the already narrow Strip. After the second intifada broke out, the military declared a vast area near the Gaza-Israel border, much of it farmland, off-limits to Palestinians. It never officially announced this policy or clarified to the residents which areas exactly were off limits to them, which increases the danger they face.

To enforce this access ban, the military has introduced open-fire regulations that permit firing at Palestinians found inside the zone – even if they pose no threat to anyone’s life. The implementation of these regulations has resulted in the death of 83 Palestinians who did not take part in fighting from the time the Disengagement Plan was implemented in September 2005 until September 2017, excluding rounds of fighting. Of these casualties, 39 were killed when they were in these zones as part of their daily routine, including local residents and farmers. Twelve more people were killed when they approached the fence, planning to cross it in search of work inside Israel.

In addition, 28 Palestinians were killed in protests held near the fence, on the Palestinian side of it. Eight of them took part in hostilities – though were unarmed at the time of their death. In recent years, weekly demonstrations such as these have taken place in several locations, with hundreds participating. Protesters set tires on fire, attempt to hang Palestinian flags on the fence, damage or cross it, and throw stones at soldiers stationed on the Israeli side. In most cases, groups of soldiers stand protected behind concrete blocks or dirt mounds, dozens of meters away from the fence.

Though soldiers use live fire in these incidents without facing mortal danger, in areas that the military is fully aware are inhabited by civilians, no one is held accountable for these killings – in keeping with Israel’s overall law enforcement policy regarding the killing of Palestinians by security forces.

Another measure employed by the military to enforce the prohibition on approaching the fence is spraying herbicides on crops near the fence – on the Gazan side. The spraying is done without advance notice, and without alerting residents that they must protect crops that lie several hundred meters away from the fence, which are also harmed by the spraying. Israel has also destroyed vast areas near the border during the rounds of fighting, including demolishing entire neighborhoods.

In the past, Gaza residents grew fruit trees and kept hothouses in these areas. Some were used for grazing livestock raised for food. However, because of Israel’s policy, and after the military destroyed various crops in the area, many farmers had to switch to crops that require less maintenance and that the army cannot claim block its field of vision. Today, the area is mostly home to dryland farming crops, which require no irrigation, such as wheat, barley, beans and various kinds of vegetables.