Skip to main content
محمد جرارعة في بيته بعد خروجه من المستشفى. تصوير: سلمى الدبعي، بتسيلم
Menu
المواضيع

شارع 60: مستوطنون يهاجمون ثلاثة فلسطينيّين ويسبّبون لأحدهم جروحًا بليغة في الرأٍس

في 5.10.2017، قرابة الساعة 22:00، سافر ثلاثة فلسطينيين على شارع 60: ثائر عبيدي، 43 عامًا، متزوّج وأب لثلاثة، من سكّان بروقين؛ غسّان قصراوي، 23 عامًا، من سكان مسليّة؛ ومحمّد جرارعة، 29 عامًا، من سكّان عسيرة الشمالية. عندما اقتربوا من مستوطنة شيله هاجمم سيارتهم مستوطنون أخذوا يرشقونهم بالحجارة، وأصابوا محمّد جرارعة بجروح بليغة في رأسه، فوق عينه اليمنى. 

كان الثلاثة في طريقهم إلى عملهم في الشرطة الفلسطينية في مدينة بيت لحم، عائدين من عُرس ابن عمّ أحدهم (عبيدي) في قرية بروقين في محافظة سلفيت. قصراوي، صاحب السيارة كان هو السائق، وإلى جانبه جلس عبيدي، وجلس جرارعة في المقعد الخلفي. عندما اقتربوا من مدخل مستوطنة شيله لاحظوا مصابيح تضيء على بُعد عشرات المترات منهم. عبيدي، ظنّ أنّ هؤلاء جنود أو عناصر شرطة فطلب من قصراوي أن يتمهّل؛ وعندها رأى ركّاب السيّارة على بُعد أمتار معدودة منهم ثلاثة أو أربعة شبّان بلباس مدنيّ أخذوا يرشقونهم بالحجارة؛ وكان أحدهم يحمل في يده مصباحًا يضيئه ويطفئه سجالاً. 

في إفادة أدلى بها يوم 12.10.2017 أمام الباحث الميداني من بتسيلم، إياد حداد، حدّث محمّد جرارعة بما جرى:

أنا كنتُ مشغولاً بحديثنا معًا، ولم يخطر ببالي أنّ أحدًا سيعتدي علينا، ولذلك لم أركّز في المعتدين. عندما اقتربنا وأصبحنا إلى جانبهم تمامًا، فجأة قُذفت حجارة كبيرة نحونا من مسافة قريبة جدًا، متر أو اثنان. أحد الحجارة أصاب الباب من جهة ثائر. 

النافذة التي في جواري كانت مفتوحة وتمكّنت من رؤية المعتدين - كانوا شبّانًا بلباس مدنيّ. أحدهم كان يلبس بلوزة بيضاء، له سوالف طويلة، ويحمل "بروجكتور". الثاني، كان يلبس بلوزة خضراء او زرقاء، وكان يحمل في يده حجرًا. الثالث لا أذكر أوصافه. 

أصابني الحجر في رأسي - حجر كبير، بحجم حبّة "الجريفوت".  من شدّة ارتطام الحجر شعرت وكأنّ الشّرر يتطاير من عيوني. أوّل ما خطر في بالي أنّني على وشك الموت، لأنّني حين تحسّست رأسي شعرت أنّ جزءًا كبيرًا من المنطقة المصابة قد تطحّن - أكبر من مساحة كفّ يدي. كأنّ يدي دخلت في "جورة" في الراس. أمسكت موضع الإصابة بكلتي يديّ وأخذت في الصراخ، من شدّة الألم.  
غسّان تابع السفر ولم يتوقّف، لأنّنا أدركنا أنّنا نتعرّض لهجمة مستوطنين. فهمنا ذلك أيضًا من لباسهم، وكذلك لأنّ أيّ فلسطيني لا يجرؤ على التوقّف ليلاً في تلك المنطقة، حيث فيها كروم للمستوطنين. 

في إفادة أدلى بها يوم 7.10.2017 أمام الباحثة الميدانية من بتسيلم، سلمى الدّبعي، حدّث ثائر عبيدي بما جرى لاحقًا:

ת'אאיר עביידי. התמונה באדיבות העד.أحد الحجارة ارتطم بزجاج النافذة المجاور لي. الحجر الثاني أصاب محمّد، الذي كان جالسًا في المقعد الخلفي من الناحية اليمنى. سمعت صراخه ورأيت دماءً تسيل من وجهه. حاولت تهدئة غسان وطلبت منه متابعة السواقة. 

انتقلت إلى المقعد الخلفيّ وجلست إلى جانب محمّد، وكانت دماؤه تنزف بغزارة. استخدمت معطفًا كان على المقعد الخلفيّ وحاولت تضميد الجرح وتنقيعه بالدم النازف لأتمكّن من رؤية مكان الإصابة. عندما رفعت المعطف فوجئت من حجم الإصابة. كان هناك جُرح فاغر في الرأس، في الجبين، فوق العين اليمنى. كانت النافذة من جهته مفتوحة ولذلك تلقّى الإصابة مباشرة. كان محمّد يصرخ ويتأوّه من الألم، وقال إنّه على وشك أن يموت. قلقت عليه جدًّا ولكنّي حاولت تهدئته. طلبت من غسّان أن يسوق السيارة نحو قرية ترمسعيّا حيث هناك عيادة طوارئ. لم أعرف كيف أوقف النزيف بسبب كبر الجُرح وعُمقه وكذلك موقع الإصابة الحسّاس. خفت إن ضغطت على الجُرح أن أؤذيه في موضع آخر أو أسبّب ضررًا. من فعل ذلك فعله بنيّة القتل. لو أصيب السائق لكان من الممكن أن نموت جميعًا.

من المركز الطبّي في ترمسعيّا نُقل محمّد جرارعة في سيّارة إسعاف إلى مستشفى الاستشاري في رام الله. أظهرت الصور التي أجريت في المستشفى أنّ هناك كسورًا في الجمجمة وخلعًا في عظم الفكّ الأعلى. بعد مضيّ ثلاثة أيّام على إصابته أجريت للمصاب عمليّة جراحيّة لجَبر الكسور وتثبيت الفكّ، نُقل بعدها إلى قسم العناية المكثّفة، حيث رقد هناك حتى يوم 10.10.2017 ثمّ نُقل إلى قسم جراحة الأعصاب. في 14.10.2017 خرج من المستشفى ولكنّه يعود من حين لآخر لأجل المتابعة الطبّية.

في إفادة أدلى بها يوم 8.10.2017 أمام الباحثة الميدانية من بتسيلم، سلمى الدّبعي، وصف غسان قصراوي تبعات الحادثة: 

محمّد بمثابة أخ لي، والعلاقة بيننا قويّة جدًّا. نحن نعمل معًا، لا نبحث عن مشاكل، فقط نريد أن نعيش بأمان. إنّه شابّ بسيط ومهذّب وكلّ همّه أن يبني لنفسه حياة مستقرّة مثل كلّ شابّ. لكي يوفّر المال لأجل الزواج عمل محمّد في البناء - في ساعات ما بعد دوامه في الأمن الوطني.

غداة الاعتداء تقدّمنا، أنا وثائر عبيدي بشكوى في مديريّة التنسيق والارتباط الفلسطينية وقدّمنا إفادات. لا أعتقد أنّ هناك فائدة من الشكوى أو أنّها قد تغيّر الواقع لكن هذا أقلّ ما يمكن فعله.  
بعد ذلك عدت إلى البيت. فحصت سيّارتي ووجدت بعض الإصابات في جانبها الأيمن. المرآة كانت مكسورة. لا يهمّني الأضرار التي لحقت بالسيارة ولا تكاليف تصليحها. كلّ ما يهمّني هو أن يعود محمّد إلى عائلته وإلينا في العمل سليمًا معافىً كالسابق.

وفق المعلومات المتوفّرة لدينا حتّى تاريخ 24.10.2017، أي بعد مرور أسبوعين على الحادثة، لم تكلّف الشرطة نفسها حتّى عناء الاستماع إلى إفادات المصابين. ينسجم سلوك الشرطة هذا مع التجارب السابقة، التي تفيد بضآلة احتمال اتّخاذ إجراءات سعيًا إلى التحقيق في حادثة اعتداء مستوطنين على فلسطينيين، وبأنّ تحقيقًا كهذا لن يؤدّي إلى محاكمة المتورّطين في الحادثة. يقع ذلك ضمن سياسة طويلة الأمد تتّبعها السلطات الإسرائيلية منذ سنين، وهي عمومًا تتيح للمستوطنين إيذاء الفلسطينيين دون أن يتحمّلوا عواقب أفعالهم. بذلك تتيح السلطات استمرار هذه الأفعال بلا حسيب أو رقيب.

Skip to main content
Muhammad Jarara at his home after being released from the hospital. Photo by Salma a-Deba'i, B'Tselem
Menu
Topics

Route 60: Settlers throw stones at three Palestinians, injuring one seriously in the head

On 5 October 2017, at about 10:00 PM, three Palestinians were traveling in a car along Route 60: Thaer Obeidi, 43, married and father of three, a resident of Bruqin; Ghasan Qasrawi, 23, a resident of the village of Misiliyah; and Muhammad Jarar’ah, 29, a resident of ‘Asirah a-Shamaliyah. As they were driving close to the settlement of Shilo, settlers attacked the car with stones, injuring Muhammad Jarar’ah seriously in the head, above his right eye.

The three men were on their way back from the wedding of Obeidi’s cousin in the village of Bruqin, in the Salfit District, to their work at the Palestinian police in Bethlehem. Qasrawi, the owner of the car, was driving. Obeidi was sitting next to him, while Jarar’ah was sitting in the back. As the car approach the settlement of Shilo, they noticed headlights a few dozen meters ahead of them. Assuming that soldiers or police officers were on the scene, Obeidi asked Qasrawi to slow down. Then, from a distance of a few meters, the three men saw three or four youths in civilian clothes who began to throw stones at them. One of the youths was holding a flashlight that he turned on and off intermittently. 

In testimony taken on 12 October 2017 by B'Tselem field researcher Iyad Hadad, Muhammad Jarar’ah stated:

I was preoccupied with our conversation and didn’t imagine that we might be attacked, so I wasn’t concentrating on the attackers. As we approached and were right next to them, they suddenly threw large stones at us from a very short distance, one or two meters. One of the stones struck the door on Thaer’s side.

The window next to me was open and I managed to see that the attackers were young and wearing civilian clothes. One of them was wearing a white shirt, had long sideburns, and was holding a projector. The second one was wearing a green or blue shirt and holding a stone. I don’t remember what the third one looked like.

The stone, which was the size of a grapefruit, hit me on the head. The blow was so hard that I felt as though sparks were coming out of my eyes. My first thought was that I was about to die, because when I felt my head I could feel that a large area – bigger than my palm – was totally smashed. It was like my hand was fitting into this dent in my head. I held the place where I had been injured with both hands and screamed in pain.

Ghasan didn’t stop, because we realized that we’d been attacked by settlers. We could tell this from their clothes and from the fact that no Palestinian would dare to stand at night in this area, where the settlers have vineyards.

In testimony taken on 7 October 2017 by B'Tselem field researcher Salma a-Deb’i, Thaer Obeidi described what happened:

ת'אאיר עביידי. התמונה באדיבות העד.

One stone broke the window next to me. Another one hit Muhammad, who was sitting in the right-hand rear seat. I heard him shouting and I could see that his face was bleeding. I tried to calm down Ghasan and asked him to keep on driving.

I moved to the back seat and sat next to Muhammad, who was bleeding heavily. I used a coat on the back seat and tried to dress the wound and soak up the blood so that I could see the injury. When I lifted the coat, I was surprised by the extent of the injury. There was a gaping wound on his forehead, above his right eye. His window had been open so he had taken the full force of the blow. Muhammad was shouting and groaning in pain and said that he was going to die. I was very worried about him, but I tried to calm him down. I asked Ghasan to drive to the village of Turmusaya, because there is an urgent medicine clinic there. I didn’t know how to stop the bleeding because the wound was so large and deep and was in a delicate area. I was afraid to apply pressure, because I didn’t want to press something and cause harm. The person who did this wanted to kill. If the driver had been hit, we could all have died.
 

Muhammad Jarar’ah was taken by ambulance from the medical center in Turmusaya to al-Istishari Hospital in Ramallah. X-rays taken at the hospital showed that he was suffering from skull fractures and a dislocated upper jaw. Three days after his injury, Jarar’ah underwent surgery to close the fractures and set his jaw. He was then held in intensive care until 10 October 2017, when he was transferred to the neurosurgical department. On 14 October 2017 he was discharged, but he continues to come to hospital for checkups. 

In testimony taken on 8 October 2017 by B'Tselem field researcher Salma a-Deb’i, Ghasan Qasrawi described the aftermath of the attack:

Muhammad is like my brother. We have a very close relationship. We work together and don’t look for trouble. We just want to make a living and live in security. He is a simply and polite guy who only wants to build a stable life for himself, like any young man. In order to save money so that he can get married, Muhammad worked in construction after his shifts working for National Security. 

The day after the attack, Thaer Obeidi and I submitted a complaint at the Palestinian DCO and gave our testimonies. I don’t believe that any good will come of the complaints or that they will change the situation, but it’s the least we can do.

Then I went home. I checked my car and found some dents on the right side. The wing mirror was broken. I didn’t care about the damage and the expense. All that matters to me is that Muhammad will be able to go back to his family and to come back and work with us, safe and sound like he was before.

As of 24 October 2017, almost two weeks after the incident, the police have not even bothered to take testimonies from the victims of the attack. This behavior is consistent with experience, which shows that the chances that anything will be done to advance an investigation when settlers attack Palestinians, or that an investigation will lead to the prosecution of those responsible, are very slim. This reality forms part of the longstanding policy of the Israeli authorities who generally allow settlers to attack Palestinians without holding them responsible for their actions. In so doing, the authorities permit such acts to continue undisturbed.